VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have a lacie 16x dual layer burner.
    I am still somewhat new at burning and have a lacie external burner. the burner is about a year old and i have burnt about 100 dvd's or so. i got a new power cord from lacie as i began to have problems with the burner, now after 3 new burnt disks, having problems with verifing disks. i have no clue what i'm doing to be honest. any help? here is what i'm getting....

miscompare at LBA 218302, offset 768, file: VIDEO_TS/VTS_01_1.VOB

device 0x0C
    image file 0xF3

total errors in sector: 16

i understand what it's telling me, but i have no clue what to do from here.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    What brand of discs are you using? That's usually the difference between success and sometimes success/sometimes failure.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    My old NEC always burned perfectly - never a coaster - and never, ever, passed a verification test. Didn't matter what media I used or what speed I burned at. Those discs still play today, and some are a good 5 years old. It would even fail a test on a simple text file with known content. I could always read the file and see the content was that same as the source, but a verification test would always fail.

Ever since then I have put very little stock in the value of verification tests as there are too many extraneous factors to make them reliable.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    thanks for the help to all.
    i have found that even without the verification the dvd still plays just fine.
    if my pc doesn't have enough power to supply the dvd burner, would this make the dvd burner mess up the verify?
    also, i have tried a different power source for the dvd burner once and it worked with the verify for 3 dvd's, then quit verifing them.