VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,

First of all, it may be a silly question but I’m not an expert at all and I have curiosity about these things.

VGA are analog connections that were used to communicate digital devices (computers) with analog devices (CRT monitors). Then they invent LCD monitors that are digital devices but keep the VGA connection that implies a conversion and a sort of lost.

Is that so because the DVI connections were invented later? And now that the DVI connections are used since several years, why exist still the VGA connections?

Is it not much better than two digital devices (LCD monitor and PC) communicate directly with no need of conversion analog-digital? Or is it may be that the DVI connections are more expensive to build that the VGA ones? I don’t know.

Thank you if someone could explain it a bit.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    VGA is still a common interface for video display devices, but I would agree the newer DVI-D is probably a better choice for a digital display like a LCD. But remember that a CRT is also a analog device, so VGA likely would be more proper with them. When CRT displays are gone, VGA may disappear also.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Its just technology marching... Here's the idea.

When the first LCDs were sold, just about all video cards had VGA connections because there were no LCDs.

So the LCD manufactorer build in VGA connectors and waited for the video card manufactorers to make cards with DVI connectors.

Many people still use CRT monitors, hence the dual connectors on the cards.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Indeed, I still have a (very nice) 21" CRT that has a beautiful picture that there is no reason to get rid of as it still works perfectly.
    It's connected to my video card with one of those little DVI to VGA adapters.

My HDTV is connected to the HTPC via DVI to HDMI...