VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I am still new to all of this video stuff... and it keeps getting confusing the more I read.

I have some ISO images of some DVDs that I ripped using DVDSHRINK and I am trying to find out if there is a way that I can convert these ISO images to another type of file that I can store and view on my pc without having to burn the ISO images to a disc first?

As far as I understand once you have an ISO image you have to burn the image onto a blank disc and then rip/convert the disc to the file format that you want... right? So... anyways around this???

Also, what file format do you recommend nowdays to someone that would like to store their DVDs/videos onto a pc for viewing? A format that won't take TOO MUCH hard drive space and that still looks decent? I also would like to be able to have a format that I can easily convert them and use them on my two portable devices; ZUNE and PSP.

I thank you all kindly for your input...
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Don't know about Zune or PSP, but you can use Daemon Tools to make your ISO show as a file, then you can do what you want with it.

Or much easier, DL FairUse Wizard 2.8. It can accept ISO files. You can convert to Xvid or H.264 or other formats to save them on your hard drive in a more compact format. If you get the pay version, it can also output to formats that may work with your portable players.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Or even use VLC ... it'll play the ISO directly - internally "mounts" the image & plays the DVD inside it.

Trevor
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    thank you both for the replies.

i have VLC as well as another program here that i forgot the name that i can plug in the ISO image and play on my pc...