VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 29 of 29
Thread
  1. i have a philips hd ready LCD 40" tv(42 PF 5421/10) and a philips(DVP5960/05) HDMI dvd player connected via the HDMI cable. now if i put a proper original dvd into the player the error message "display connected - is non HDCP compliant" ????? then the screen goes black and says no input signal!!! ive tried the cable and that seems fine! but if i put a backup dvd into the player, it plays it no problems at all????? so why wont my player and tv play/watch the dvd that i have legally bought to view in my own home????? if i am told by philips that my tv or dvd player is non compliant with this, then how the hell can philips advertise/sell these appliances as HD READY????????

    is there a way round it??? or is my just over a year old tv out of date???? if so who can i go to to get some sort of recompense??? currys or philips??????
    Quote Quote  
  2. DVD Ninja budz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In the shadows.....
    Search Comp PM
    Your PHILIPS tv is probably not HDCP compatible which is why you are getting the "HDCP" error message. You can try hooking up your PHILIPS 5960 DVD PLAYER via component cables to see if you get that HDCP error.

    Please post the exact model number of your LCD TV.
    Quote Quote  
  3. philips flat tv 42 PF 5421/10 lcd. why is it advertised as HD ready if it cant be used????
    Quote Quote  
  4. DVD Ninja budz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In the shadows.....
    Search Comp PM
    Hmmmmmm.....according to the manual your PHILIPS LCD TV supports HDCP. Look where it says HD READY on the link below.

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/files/4/42pf5421_10/42pf5421_10_pss_aen.pdf

    Let me take a look at your PHILIPS DVD PLAYER manual.
    Quote Quote  
  5. ive seen there is a firmware upgrade on the dvd player. ive downloaded the file and burnt to disc. but it does nothing??? i insert the disc and it just stops spinning???? theres no instructions as to how you perform the upgrade???? as stated above. if i put a DVD backup in the player it plays fine! just original copy written discs!!!!! god this is frustrating!!!!
    Quote Quote  
  6. DVD Ninja budz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In the shadows.....
    Search Comp PM
    Hmmmm....okay calm down...I'm trying to assist you with the problem...

    Did you set the HDMI on the 5960 DVD PLAYER? According to page 42 in your dvd manual there's a setting for displaying the resolutions you may want. Also your problem seems to be common with others who own this dvd player as well.

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/files/d/dvp5960_05/dvp5960_05_dfu_eng.pdf

    Do you have any other devices hooked up to your LCD TV? Like a HD DVR digital cable box?
    Quote Quote  
  7. nope just the DVD player via HDMI . i can go to HDMI setup and go to resolution. but it only lets me select AUTO i cant scroll through the other resolutions...
    Quote Quote  
  8. DVD Ninja budz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In the shadows.....
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fatboy78
    ive seen there is a firmware upgrade on the dvd player. ive downloaded the file and burnt to disc. but it does nothing??? i insert the disc and it just stops spinning???? theres no instructions as to how you perform the upgrade???? as stated above. if i put a DVD backup in the player it plays fine! just original copy written discs!!!!! god this is frustrating!!!!
    Here's the instructions on how to burn the firmware on a CD-R & instructions on how to upgrade the firmware. Googles your friend!

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpcontent.pl?slg=ENG&mid=Link_Software&cat=D...05_fur_eng.pdf
    Quote Quote  
  9. DVD Ninja budz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In the shadows.....
    Search Comp PM
    There are others with the same problem w/regards to HDMI connections on your HDMI dvd player. Hopefully the firmware upgrade can help solve the problem or try buying a new HDMI cable but I suspect the problem is your HDMI dvd player.
    Quote Quote  
  10. doesnt load up??? the files there to download. but it says adobe reader, the file is damaged and could not be repaired????? thats the instructions i think???
    Quote Quote  
  11. DVD Ninja budz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In the shadows.....
    Search Comp PM
    let that page load then you'll see the instructions. don't click on the download that is displayed on the left side of that link. once the instructions appear you can print them out. then go ahead and click that download of the firmware which is on the left side.
    Quote Quote  
  12. not working for me mate. comes up "adobe reader file damaged and could not be repaired"
    Quote Quote  
  13. ive loaded up another file now and using them instructions! will let you know how i get on
    Quote Quote  
  14. succesfully upgraded the firmware. but same problem still occurs!!! sounds like player is fooked then?????
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Philips TV, Philips DVD player. Shouldn't you be yelling at Philips?

    All HDMI spec inputs support HDCP. If the player supports HDCP it should allow a copy protected DVD disc to upscale with an active HDCP connection. Problem is most players with HDMI don't upscale copy protected discs even with an HDCP handshake.

    This is definitely a Philips corporate policy decision and I think you are entitled to a full refund on both products with Philips paying the return freight.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  16. DVD Ninja budz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In the shadows.....
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fatboy78
    succesfully upgraded the firmware. but same problem still occurs!!! sounds like player is fooked then?????
    I read something about powering off your dvd player & tv then power them back on with the tv first. Something to do with the HDCP handshake thingy.

    I have 2 SONY HDMI dvd players that upscale copy protected discs just fine. If you can get some sort of refund from PHILIPS then use the $$$ and buy a SONY upconverter HDMI player.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Originally Posted by edDV
    Problem is most players with HDMI don't upscale copy protected discs even with an HDCP handshake.
    My DVP-5960 does.
    Quote Quote  
  18. DVD Ninja budz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In the shadows.....
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo
    Originally Posted by edDV
    Problem is most players with HDMI don't upscale copy protected discs even with an HDCP handshake.
    My DVP-5960 does.
    Some PHILIPS DVP-5960 have problems with HDMI. Just do a google and you'll see that the OP isn't the only one with the problem.
    Quote Quote  
  19. all sorted now!!! turned the tv off at the wall and left the DVD player on. and all seems fine!!! will see what happens? will watch a dvd and see if it comes back again.

    thanks for everyones help! especially budz!
    Quote Quote  
  20. DVD Ninja budz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In the shadows.....
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fatboy78
    all sorted now!!! turned the tv off at the wall and left the DVD player on. and all seems fine!!! will see what happens? will watch a dvd and see if it comes back again.

    thanks for everyones help! especially budz!
    Your Welx! Good to hear it's working for you now.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Originally Posted by budz
    Originally Posted by jagabo
    Originally Posted by edDV
    Problem is most players with HDMI don't upscale copy protected discs even with an HDCP handshake.
    My DVP-5960 does.
    Some PHILIPS DVP-5960 have problems with HDMI. Just do a google and you'll see that the OP isn't the only one with the problem. :)
    My post was a direct respose to edDV's "most players with HDMI don't upscale copy protected discs" -- simply to indicate that the 5960 was not one of those players. Not that the OP couldn't be having issues with his.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    I should have said "many" rather than "most".
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  23. Or "some" or "a few".
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    My sample size is four for HDMI upscale. Not that many.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  25. I just started experiencing this same problem with my Philips DVP5990. Was watching some divx files on the USB drive, and the player shut down after being paused for a few minutes (which is all quite normal). When I turned it back on, however, I was faced with a very similar situation to what the OP describes: When I turned the dvd player back on, I got picture but no sound. This went on for around a minute or so, then I got a message that said "display connected non hdcp compliant," and then the picture went black.

    I connected the DVD player to the TV with component cables instead of HDMI, and the divx files now play OK, but any DVD I try to play will only play sound if it's not 5.1.

    Am I out a brand-new DVD player??
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by ClayinCA View Post
    I just started experiencing this same problem with my Philips DVP5990. Was watching some divx files on the USB drive, and the player shut down after being paused for a few minutes (which is all quite normal). When I turned it back on, however, I was faced with a very similar situation to what the OP describes: When I turned the dvd player back on, I got picture but no sound. This went on for around a minute or so, then I got a message that said "display connected non hdcp compliant," and then the picture went black.

    I connected the DVD player to the TV with component cables instead of HDMI, and the divx files now play OK, but any DVD I try to play will only play sound if it's not 5.1.

    Am I out a brand-new DVD player??
    You need to turn both units off and then on again to re-establish the HDCP active handshake. Turn the TV on first.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  27. Thanks a lot - I'll try it!
    Quote Quote  
  28. No luck. Both the TV and DVD player were turned off all day long. Got home, turned the TV on, set it to the appropriate HDMI input, turned the DVD player on, and...the exact same thing happened.

    I'm thinking it may have to be a new player, unfortunately...
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Search PM
    I know this is an old thread - but for me it was a current issue - I fixed this "display connected non hdcp compliant" issue by:

    * Unplugging my Philips DVD Player from the Power Strip
    * Unplugging my TV from the Power Strip
    * Disconnecting my HDMI Cable from both devices
    * Waiting 1 Minute
    * Reconnected and plugged in everything
    * Turned on the TV
    * Placed DVD in the DVD Player - which in turn switched my video source on my TV to the DVD
    * Sound & Picture is back - no more error message.

    I have a new Samsung LCD (LN46C630) and an 1 year old Philips DVP3982 DVD player.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads