VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm working on an archive of MSDS sheets for the interior designers that patronize our store. I decided to make it as a web page so it would be cross OS friendly. I'm running into one issue so far. I'm not a web designer by any means but with Dreamweaver at hand I've put together the first few pages of the site and made sure it validates correctly. Now I've tested it running from disk in IE and Firefox with no problems. When I open it in Opera though I have issues accessing the PDF files on the disk. It will open one PDF file from the link and the rest show up as odd characters, mostly kanji from the look of it. I tried everything I can think of to adjust mime type thinking that may be the issue, but with no luck. Finally I uploaded part of it to freewebs just to test it on the internet. The problem disappears once the site is put online. Unfortunately I'll be distributing this on CD so that doesn't do me much good. If anyone could take a look at the source code and tell me if there is anything I can do to make Opera behave with this, I'd appreciate it. You can view the partial upload at www.freewebs.com/morrispaint/html/shawdata.html
    Not all the links are active, only the first few downloads for testing purposes. Thanks in advance!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    IMO, you should use

[s:0b02f619f1]<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC etc etc etc>[/s:0b02f619f1]

<HTML[s:0b02f619f1]xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml"[/s:0b02f619f1]>

<META http-equiv="Content-Type"
    content="[s:0b02f619f1]application/xhtml+xml; charset=utf-8[/s:0b02f619f1]text/html; charset=windows-1252">
    There really is no point in calling UTF-8~encoding when the text in the page
    does not contain 16-bit printable characters. HTH.
    Quote Quote