VideoHelp Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I am a self-confessed newbie in the sense that I have a Pioneer DVR-510H - which up until recently seemed to operate just fine for several years.

Lately, I am getting erratic error messages if I try to move recorded material from the harddrive to a (DVD)disk. If I try to perform a quick copy without editing the writer will make noise and then say unable to complete. If I try to use the same disk to write at 1-1 speed, I have received different errors including "unable to repair disk" and "unable to complete.

I am able to read disks on the same DVR, so I do not think the laser is out and I have carefully cleaned the entire machine to insure it is not a dirt on the lens issue. The fan is working and the machine does not appear to suffer heat related problems. Unfortunately, recording from the HD to the DVD is a virtual crapshoot in that I have been able to record one out of the 13 disks that I recently tried. And if it matters, I have tried three different brands of blank media, so I do not think it is a media problem.

If I did not know any better, I would just as soon swap out dvd burners. Because this drive is evidently proprietary, and/or requires some type of special format disk, maybe it is more trouble than it is worth and I should abandon my efforts.

I did search the archives and found inconsistent opinions regarding the need for a format disk when going to a larger harddrive. Here I just want a working pioneer dvd read-writer.
    If anyone has any suggestions other than the obvious (scrap yard), I am all eyes and ears. As an afterthought, maybe someone can point me in the direction of finding a used dvd burner.

Thank you in advance.
    Quote Quote  
    drifting, somewhere on the Sea of Cynicism
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by hobo