VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Right here, right now!
    Search Comp PM
    Coming back late to the world of DVD Recorders/HDD decks, I see that nearly all of them apparently now have a tuner of some sort built -in. What does this mean if you have a SKY box? My old Panasonic didn't have a tuner, so I could just hook it up to SKY and away I went. If I don't want Freeview (which I don't), then do I NEED a built-in tuner? Should I go for a less expensive model if it hasn't got one, or is there now some standard whereby ALL HDD DVDRs have a tuner built-in? And if yes to that, will it affect my SKY adversely, or indeed make any difference?
    It's all a bit bewildering...
    Thx for any insight.
    TH
    "I've learned that life is one crushing defeat after another, until you just wish Flanders was dead!" --- Homer J. Simpson
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I read that all new recorders would have a built-in tuner (in preparation for the digital switch-over)

    Yet I bought one only a few months ago without a tuner.

    No, if you do not need Freeview then you do not need a built-in tuner. Just connect the $ky-box as before. There will be no impact whatsover when analogue is switched off as you will still receive the digital signal via $ky
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Right here, right now!
    Search Comp PM
    Cool!
    Thx man! Makes the decision a lot easier.
    But, should I completely AVOID tuners in DVDrs? Reading another thread seems to indicate people are having a lot of problems with them, even to the machine refusing to start up because the tuner isn't getting a signal...
    Thx again
    TH
    "I've learned that life is one crushing defeat after another, until you just wish Flanders was dead!" --- Homer J. Simpson
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I suppose that could happen if it was a pure digital tuner and you plugged an analogue signal into it (from an area without Freeview)

    But if no aerial cable was plugged in I fail to see why it should not start up (the unit should still go into setup). All you would need to do is switch the input to AV.

    But if you do not need the tuner then why complicate the issue to buy the unit with one when you can get them without.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Right here, right now!
    Search Comp PM
    True. Well I won't be plugging any aerials in, as I get all my TV signals through my Skybox. So buying without the tuner would seem to be the one.
    Any recommendations? Last one was a Panasonic DMR-HS2, which was great till it started feeling its age. Now it crashes the hard disc without warning, timer doesn't work and the disc tray prefers to remain closed, despite repeated requests for it to open...!
    "I've learned that life is one crushing defeat after another, until you just wish Flanders was dead!" --- Homer J. Simpson
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I think you will find several threads here about recommended units.

    I can only quote from my current machines - A Toshiba RD-XV45KB which has both a VCR and 160 gb HD (actually this is a rebadged Funai) and a Funai DRVR-B778S which does not have a HD just a VCR (I do have a lot of use for VHS). Both of these are excellent machines (DVD -R/RW only)
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member oldandinthe way's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    With the other crabapples
    Search Comp PM
    Try using opening your tray using an unbent paper clip in the small hole below the tray. Often a temporary jam will be cleared in this manner.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Right here, right now!
    Search Comp PM
    Thx Old! Next time it jams I'll try that.
    (Previous to this I've just had to keep stabbing at the open key, but once I had to insert a sharp, flat-bladed knife between the mechanism and the tray to "help" it out, as I kept pushing the button. Worked, but scary!
    "I've learned that life is one crushing defeat after another, until you just wish Flanders was dead!" --- Homer J. Simpson
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads