VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    (some background info, i have been working in video production for over 15 years, i'm a part time computer nerd, part time video professional. All test were done on 2 seperate systems)

We recently bought the Sanyo VPC-HD1000 HD camera. The camera looks a bit weird and non standard but image quality is better than expected and somehow the weird shape is actually very convenient. It records to SD card in h.264 format for video and AAC for audio and comes with all the cables you'll ever need to connect the camera. So far so good. more information about this camera on : http://us.sanyo.com/entertainment/cameracorder/index.cfm?productID=1512

So filming isn't the problem but we also like to edit our recordings. Before we bought the camera we did a lot of research and when it came to editing pretty much the only choice would be Sony Vegas and maybe the recently released Newtek Speededit(which we still haven't checked out).

So we started with some recordings done in 720p and 720i. All went fine in Vegas(version 8.0 pro): Import the mp4 files, render to intermediate format, edit the video and export to wmv HD. The next test was done with fullHD(1080i) clips and then we experienced some weird problems. The camera for some reason does not have a pause button, every time you record a clip it is saved as a seperate clip. For the test clips in 1080i we ended up with about 40 files. Upon importing the clips Vegas froze.

Started importing the clips again, now adding them 5 at a time. First 25 or so went fine, then when i added the next 5 files i got the error message that the files were not recognized as video. Started a new project, added those same 5 files first and now the files were recognized.