VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I'm trying to install ffmpegx on a mac os x.3.9. Each time I attempt to open the .dmg file I receive a message stating the disk image did not mount. Can someone tell me what I may be doing wrong? Should I download ffmpeg again? Or am I missing a step? Please help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    You would probably get more answers in our ffmpegX Forum. Moving you.

    And welcome to our forums.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Explorer Case's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Search Comp PM
    If a .dmg disk image refuses to mount, then you should try downloading the file again.
    The ffmpegX.dmg (v. 0.0.9y) file should be 32.2 MB in size (33,760,087 bytes). Anything smaller is incomplete.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Search Comp PM
    I've also have a problem when I want to install the 3 binaries: mpeg2enc is a quicktime file which I can't open and the other two (mplayer and mencoder) are exec-files which don't open. I used firefox and safari but they gave me the same. I searched the whole web about burning a dvd with avi and srt but nothing works with me. Can someone help me, please??

    Thx
    Debbie
    Quote Quote  
  5. Explorer Case's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Search Comp PM
    Hi Debbie,
    You don't need to open any of these three files. Just leave them on your desktop until the installation is done.
    When you launch ffmpegX for the first time, it will present you with an Installer window. Use the Locate buttons to let the Installer know where the binaries are on your hard disk drive. When the binaries are installed, they are copied to a special location and all three made "Unix Executable".
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Search Comp PM
    Thx for the quick reply but if I locate the three items and click install I get this warning:
    Installation was not successful
    WARNING: Improper use of the sudo command could lead to data loss
    or the deletion of important system files. Please double-check your
    typing when using sudo. Type "man sudo" for more information.

    I don't really have an idea of what sudo command means or what I'm doing wrong!?
    I can easily burn a dvd (avi) without subs (.srt) but I have no idea how to add the subs. I've got my MacBook for a week now and it didn't work.

    I don't type in a password because I don't have one on my MacBook maybe that is the problem...?
    Greetzzz
    Debbie
    Quote Quote  
  7. Explorer Case's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by MacBookie
    I don't type in a password because I don't have one on my MacBook maybe that is the problem...?
    Yes, that is causing the error. Go to System Preferences > System > Accounts and set a password.
    (The password is only needed for installation, so you may change it back afterwards, if you must.)

    Originally Posted by MacBookie
    I don't really have an idea of what sudo command means
    And you shouldn't have to know. But if you're interested:
    Sudo (for: superuser do), in general, is a program for Unix-like computer operating systems that allows users to run programs with the security privileges of another user (normally the superuser). [1] The installer needs it to create/copy files and folders in the all-users /Library directory.
    Use of the command requires a non-blank admin password.
    If there were no errors, then you would not be bothered with sudo messages, as it is supposed to do its thing in the background without user feedback.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks!!!

    I installed the three items and it works. But if I want to encode a movie from .avi to dvd ffmpeg (as PAL) and I add sound it doesn't work. If I don't add the sound I get the movie.DVD but I don't have any sound??!!

    This is my info
    Encoding started on Sun Mar 2 19:18:25 CET 2008
    FFmpeg version CVS, Copyright (c) 2000-2004 Fabrice Bellard
    Mac OSX universal build for ffmpegX
    libavutil version: 49.0.0
    libavcodec version: 51.9.0
    libavformat version: 50.4.0
    Input #0, avi, from '/Users/Thuis/Movies/TFTF TD/TFTF Tokyo Drift.avi':
    Duration: 01:44:14.1, start: 0.000000, bitrate: 938 kb/s
    Stream #0.0, 23.98 fps(r): Video: mpeg4, yuv420p, 640x272
    Stream #0.1: Audio: mp3, 48000 Hz, stereo, 128 kb/s
    Output #0, dvd, to '/Users/Thuis/Movies/TFTF TD/TFTF Tokyo Drift.avi.ff.mpg':
    Stream #0.0, 25.00 fps(c): Video: mpeg2video, yuv420p, 720x576, q=2-20, 4000 kb/s
    Stream #0.1: Audio: ac3, 48000 Hz, 5:1, 448 kb/s
    Stream mapping:
    Stream #0.0 -> #0.0
    Stream #0.1 -> #0.1

    Debbie
    Quote Quote  
  9. Explorer Case's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by MacBookie
    I want to encode a movie from .avi to dvd ffmpeg (as PAL)
    No problem there.

    Originally Posted by MacBookie
    the encoding goes really fast
    Not good. DVD ffmpeg is a fast encoder compared to others, but the process should take a good while, depending on your computer's speed. Did the ffmpegX Progress window say "Finished"? What is the file size of your output .mpg file?

    Originally Posted by MacBookie
    Is it possible that it has something to do with the fact that I haven't registrated ffmpegx yet?
    No, the unregistered ffmpegX is fully functional for this conversion.

    Originally Posted by MacBookie
    Do I hav to encode every tab?
    No, it acts as a 'start' button, no matter which tab is in front.

    Originally Posted by MacBookie
    This is my info
    [...]
    Stream mapping:
    Stream #0.0 -> #0.0
    Stream #0.1 -> #0.1
    There should be more after this. I see no errors, but there should be a next line with a size summary (video xxx kb, audio yyy kb, etc) of the completed encoding. Weird, as if the encoding is still busy...

    Originally Posted by MacBookie
    Is it normal that I don't see the subtitles in here?
    Subtitles are handled after the video and audio are completed.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks a lot!! It's working perfectly now!!

    I posted the wrong information: he was still encoding I'm sorry.

    But I only got one problem: i've got a movie but the subtitles don't sync with the audio and video. Can ffmpegx solve this problem or do I need an other program?

    Again Thanks for all your help!
    Debbie
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I had exact same problem as Debbie -- thanks for tip.

    And may I say that your forum posts from Case are amazingly clear and helpful -- and that's pretty unusual on most forums...

    Thanks a lot, and big hat tip to Case for such complete answers.

    Simon
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    PariS
    Search Comp PM
    HELLO,

    I HAVE THIS PROBLEM : PLEASE HELP



    ##sudo: /etc/sudoers is mode 0644, should be 0440
    sh: line 1: 18036 Segmentation fault sudo -k

    when i want to install the components : mpeg2enc + mencoder + mplayer

    What can i do ? in a simple engligh
    Quote Quote  
  13. Explorer Case's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by gadjo View Post
    ##sudo: /etc/sudoers is mode 0644, should be 0440
    sh: line 1: 18036 Segmentation fault sudo -k
    Perhaps your file permissions for sudoers are off. Repair permissions with Disk Utility (for your startup drive).

    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads