VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3
FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 31 to 60 of 82
Thread
  1. Originally Posted by su_candy
    Will that deivce be compatible with all types of PCs???
    Yes, but note the limitations. From the device you linked to: "Support 640x480@60/72/75/85Hz, 800x600@60/72/75/85Hz , 1024x768@60/70/75/85Hz, 1280x1024@60display mode." Quality varies from device to device. Generally, more expensive ones do better than cheap ones. Note the sample image I posted earlier in this thread.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    hi edDV,

    Thanks for ur advice and support.. the websites u provided were really helpful.. I've started doing more research on this field.. really curious to know more on this...
    Thanks and regards
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    hi guys.. would HDMI to HDMI work? I got HDMI on my lap top and HDMI ports on HDTV...
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by galapagos
    hi guys.. would HDMI to HDMI work? I got HDMI on my lap top and HDMI ports on HDTV...
    Should work.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by galapagos
    hi guys.. would HDMI to HDMI work? I got HDMI on my lap top and HDMI ports on HDTV...
    Sure. The outer ~3 percent of the frame on all four sides will not be visible if your HDTV overscans.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    thanks so much guys... would VGA to S Video also work?
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by galapagos
    thanks so much guys... would VGA to S Video also work?
    Should work. Why did you buy HDMI if you don't want to use it?
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  8. Keep in mind s-video will only give you about 640x480 resolution for the luma (black and white) and 320x480 for the chroma (colors). You're far better off with HDMI or VGA if your TV supports them.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    thanks guys.. I haven't bought cables.. I was wondering what is the better one to buy.. HDMI to HDMI are more expensive in franchises like radioshack or best buy, VGA to SVideo cheaper.. but quality is worse.. probably my best bet is HDMI to HDMI...
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    There are many websites that will sell you HDMI cables for under $10 and by length. You probably paid a $200 premium to get HDMI in your laptop. Get the right cable. These guys shipped cables to me with 4 days USPO delivery.
    http://www.tartancable.com/

    If you plan to use the TV as a computer monitor (vs. play tv/movies) check to see it supports full scan on HDMI. VGA (PC Port) usually has overscan switched off.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Overscan
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I'll order from them too then.. No I didnt pay 200$ for HDMI port on my lap top, its just Dell 1535 Studio, it came with HDMI and ATI Radeon 3400 video card (250 MB)..
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    The TV needs to support full scan if that wasn't clear.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    OK
    Quote Quote  
  14. Our local Fry's has 10 foot HDMI cables on sale this weekend for US$3.97. Shaxon brand. I've used them. They're fine.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo
    Our local Fry's has 10 foot HDMI cables on sale this weekend for US$3.97. Shaxon brand. I've used them. They're fine.
    Cool I'm heading for Fry's tomorrow. I haven't looked at the ad yet.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  16. Is there a significant different of video quality from RGB input vs HDMI input ?or it just I want the latest stuff thing ?
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by SingSing
    Is there a significant different of video quality from RGB input vs HDMI input ?or it just I want the latest stuff thing ?
    By "RGB" I think you mean analog component? in that case

    G=Y (luminance)
    B=Pb
    R=Pr

    VGA is analog RGB

    HDMI is digital and can be 8bit RGB or 8bit 4:2:0 Y,Cb,Cr, also or for v1.3 higher bit rate and bit depth xvYCC, sRGB or Y,CbCr.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VGA
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-Definition_Multimedia_Interface

    Is the quality different? That depend on the source and the display you are using.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    been using HDMI to HDMI, works great, picture and sound! thanks for the advice
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Hello all.
    Sorry if I did not read enough But I have a laptop with VGA output. I need to send it to S Video or AV. I can not find away to convert this. When I bring my laptop up it gives me two displays but It only has VGA out. Can I hook A monitor to it and use it as a second display, Or will it be a mirror.
    Thanks all
    Wirereaper45662
    What ever works works Computers and operators are all diff.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by wicked45662
    Hello all.
    Sorry if I did not read enough But I have a laptop with VGA output. I need to send it to S Video or AV. I can not find away to convert this. When I bring my laptop up it gives me two displays but It only has VGA out. Can I hook A monitor to it and use it as a second display, Or will it be a mirror.
    Thanks all
    Wirereaper45662
    Chipsets differ. Check the manual or call the laptop manuafacturer tech support.

    You can connect VGA to a VGA monitor. To convert VGA to S-Video you will need something like this.
    http://www.startech.com/item/VGA2NTSCPRO-High-Resolution-PC-VGA-to-TV-Converter-with-R...e-Control.aspx
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    jagabo, edDV: What do you guys think about this VGA to s-video/composite converter: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000X3FAJU ? About $30 and people seem quite happy with it (average rating 4 stars from ~100 reviews), not like with those VGA to s-video cables. Is this a reasonable quality scan converter for $30?!! Sounds too good to be true, but shopping miracles do happen occasionally...
    Quote Quote  
  22. Originally Posted by huykin
    jagabo, edDV: What do you guys think about this VGA to s-video/composite converter: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000X3FAJU ? About $30 and people seem quite happy with it (average rating 4 stars from ~100 reviews), not like with those VGA to s-video cables. Is this a reasonable quality scan converter for $30?!! Sounds too good to be true, but shopping miracles do happen occasionally...
    Sounds like it works. The specs that Amazon lists say it only supports VGA at 640x480 but at users indicate it also works at 800x600 and 1024x768. Note: the higher the VGA resolution the less readable Desktop text will be. The price I see is US$18.89 + $9.10 shipping.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Do you think that will work with a wide screen laptop running at native 1280x800 60Hz, to watch SD (720x480x30 interlaced, 4:3 DAR) video in full screen on a SD CRT TV through s-video? Will I just need to change the screen resolution to 1024x768 or another 4:3 resolution? Will interlacing be properly transmitted if I play without deinterlacing? (That would be nice as both video and TV are interlaced.) Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  24. Originally Posted by huykin
    Do you think that will work with a wide screen laptop running at native 1280x800 60Hz, to watch SD (720x480x30 interlaced, 4:3 DAR) video in full screen on a SD CRT TV through s-video? Will I just need to change the screen resolution to 1024x768 or another 4:3 resolution?
    You'll probably have to switch to 1024x768 at 60 Hz. Instead of swtiching the Desktop you can use a player that changes the resolution on the fly.

    Originally Posted by huykin
    Will interlacing be properly transmitted if I play without deinterlacing? (That would be nice as both video and TV are interlaced.) Thanks
    Tough to say. I suspect it will work right if you use a player that bobs.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    If you buy this let us know how it works for you. The converters I've seen perform poorly for display of desktop.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  26. I am doing something similar, only backwards. I have a VGA monitor that I want to use as a "TV" display. Mainly, I want to use it to view video coming out of my DVD player, recorder, vcr, and tuner without having to turn on the projector each time. I have a spare VGA monitor, but not a spare TV. So I got a s-video to VGA converter for roughly $60.

    But I don't mean to hijack. I just thought it might be interesting in this conversation.


    Darryl
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by dphirschler
    I am doing something similar, only backwards. I have a VGA monitor that I want to use as a "TV" display. Mainly, I want to use it to view video coming out of my DVD player, recorder, vcr, and tuner without having to turn on the projector each time. I have a spare VGA monitor, but not a spare TV. So I got a s-video to VGA converter for roughly $60.

    But I don't mean to hijack. I just thought it might be interesting in this conversation.


    Darryl
    I bet you could find a real TV on Craigslist for $60 that produces a better picture.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  28. Originally Posted by edDV
    Originally Posted by dphirschler
    I am doing something similar, only backwards. I have a VGA monitor that I want to use as a "TV" display. Mainly, I want to use it to view video coming out of my DVD player, recorder, vcr, and tuner without having to turn on the projector each time. I have a spare VGA monitor, but not a spare TV. So I got a s-video to VGA converter for roughly $60.

    But I don't mean to hijack. I just thought it might be interesting in this conversation.


    Darryl
    I bet you could find a real TV on Craigslist for $60 that produces a better picture.
    I bet you could get a free TV, because it costs money for people to dispose their unwanted TV.
    Especially after We(U.S.) switched to DTV. There are many NTSC only sets that got left behind.
    Quote Quote  
  29. Your probably right! LOL. But I already failed once by getting a small 12" TV for $12 from a neighbor at a garage sale. But it was shot. It looked horrible and then I had to dispose of it.


    Darryl
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Search Comp PM
    I have a similar issue ...
    I bought the same 'VGA to S-Video/RCA' cable (for use with my new HP-Mini laptop which does not have an S-Video output) ... this HP-Mini laptop has an NVidia video card (the NVidia ION) ... when I connect the laptop to the TV (using VGA to S-Video) I do get the video on my TV, but the computer screen appears three times on the TV screen (they are all condensed/squished; the ones on the right and left are cut off and the one in the middle is all there (but squished)); and it is black and white. I have checked (in the NVidia Control Panel) to make sure that the TV is listed (it is) and that the output is the requisite 60 Hertz. Any ideas?
    Last edited by sdaigle; 6th Mar 2010 at 15:05. Reason: To add more info.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads