VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi. I've been trying to figure this out for years, but still with no success.

I want to try and convert all my videos into the same kind of thing you'd see on a good quality anime fan-sub. I think they're usually in Divx or Xvid. Basically the excellent video quality with a fairly small filesize.

At the same time, I'm still totally new to most forms of video editing, and all attempts in the past have failed (usually because of some stupid error on the part of the software) or the fact that the guides are so techinical that it's hard for a newbie like me to understand.

I want to give it another try, but I need to know where I should start. I'm hoping to avoid having to use like 5-10 programs to get a final decent video that's good quality without a huge filesize (like most fansubs). Instead just use some program or method to get a final avi.

If someone can point me in the direction of a simple guide or give some suggestions, that would be awesome.

Thanks.

PS: I use the CCCP codec pack if that makes any difference.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    What is your source ?
    What type of computer and OS do you have ? (it helps if you fill in your details)
    What do you want to play them back on ?
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Source is pretty much anything, but mostly Mpgs and Avis
    I have a pretty good pc with Xp pro on it.
    I just want to play them back on my pc. Nothing with DVDs or anything else. Just PC.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    If PC playback is your goal - why convert at all? I guess they should play as they are?
    I want to try and convert all my videos into the same kind of thing you'd see on a good quality anime fan-sub
    I think you have to elaborate on that a bit. What are your source files lacking, that you see in these anime videos?

/Mats