VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello,
    I am a bit amateur when it comes to video editing and I have been asked to edit a video for a friend. The clips I have (that are supposed to be HD?) open in quicktime which tells me the video is : DVCPRO50 720x480 (853 x 480) millions. Data Rate 57.55mbits/s Actual size 853 x 480.

I have always worked in 720x480 DV so this is new to me and I want to know which Final Cut Pro sequence preference to use while editing so things are not distorted when I export. Also why is it set to 853 x 480? Should it not be either a 4:3 ratio or a 16:9? 853 seems like such a random number.

The final output of these videos will be compressed down for the web and burnt to a dvd for tv viewing. I want to make sure I set my preferences correctly from the start of this project so that I dont end up at the end with a product I cant use. I am really hoping someone can shed some light on this for me.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I guess what I really need to know is if 853 x 480 should be set to a preset of 720 x 480 (4:3) or 720 x 480 (16:9) or something totally different. Any advice is welcomed and much appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    it is the square pixel representation of 720 x 480 16:9
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Where is this commonly used? Why wouldnt someone either shoot in wide screen or 720 x 480 4:3? If I am to use these clips for editing would I set my file up as 720 x 480 anamorphic? Using Square pixels?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Your project would be 720 x 480 Anamorphic (16:9). Don't way about the 853 x 480 reference. That is how it will appear on playback only. You have standard definition footage. It may have come from a pro level camera, but it is definitely SD.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Search Comp PM