VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello, have anyone find a way to fix the IMG Burn "No device detected" trouble in linux. I was able to solve his problem with decrypter, but i really love the build feature of IMG Burn.
    I'm running a PCLinuxOS 2007 on a AMD XP2000 with 1G of RAM, 2 DVD Burners and 2 HD.
    By the way I'm a complete noob in linux.

Regards
    I want to believe....
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Please elaborate. Its not clear as to what you are asking.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Run your wineconfig program. Might be in the menu if not, open a term, and type winecfg.

On the Applications tab, click add application, a browser should open, browse to ImgBurn.exe (Program Files\ImgBurn\ImgBurn.exe), change the type to Windows NT 4.0. Click apply.

Click on the drives tab, hit the show advanced button, make sure your DVD drive is listed as Type CD-ROM. If not change it. Click apply

Launch ImgBurn

Linux _is_ user-friendly. It is not ignorant-friendly and idiot-friendly.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    As far as I can tell, ImgBurn ONLY runs under Windows. That would mean that you are either running it under Wine or a similar emulator or running it in some kind of virtual machine. Running it in a virtual machine that runs some Windows variant should be OK. If you are using Wine, then for all we know your problem could be a Wine related issue. Wine emulation is not perfect and some programs don't run under it.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    For Linux, there's mkisofs to create the ISO image from a Video DVD structure. Once you have the ISO, burning it to disk is equally (even more!) trivial - In Ubuntu, you just right click the ISO and select Burn to disk from the context menu. I'm sure there's some equally simple way in PCLinux. No need for anything else.