VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Would someone be able to tell me what tools I need to to rip a PAL format region 2 dvd onto my region one laptops hard drive without changing the region coding? I have dvdshrink and ripitforme and hidownload(never used) and VISTA. (and KM player) plus I am a newbie. thx
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Ripping should not be a problem, use DVDFab HD Decrypter to rip to your HDD & the region coding should be removed.

Playing a PAL dvd on any PC should not be a problem as PC's will play either format, PAL or NTSC, only the software/drive will be region intolerant.

Now when it come's to playing back this dvd, that has been ripped and burned back to a dvdr, on a standalone player, it may or may not play back depending on whether or not the standalone will convert PAL to NTSC or the TV will accept
    and play a PAL video is another issue.

PAL and Region coding are two diff. thing's.

All a ripper does is basically rip the content's of the DVD to your HDD while removing copy protections and region coding.
    Once that is done it is basically where/how do you want to watch it and if the hardware will allow it.

More specific details on what you wish to do with this PAL dvd would get a more specific answer 8)

I hope i made myself clear, as i sometimes tend to not make sense to other's at times just because i have been doing this a little longer and even though i make sense to myself in how i describe thing's i may not make sense to other's :P

And welcome to the forums!!!!!
    I hope your first post goes well 8)
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the quick reply, appreciate it and you make perfect sense to me.