VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,

I'm MaddenPT and this is my first time posting on these forums. I've luked these boards several times when I was in need of help but now I can't find the solution to my current problem. So I'll try to be as clear and concise as possible to help you good folks understand my problem.

I'm currently using Aegisub to create subtitles on .ass format for a certain movie (1986's An American Tail). I'm planning on eventually hardsub them onto the video when I'm done. After creating 4 or 5 lines, I decided to see how the subtitles would look on the movie (it's in avi format).

So I saved them as .ass format, named the movie and the subtitles the same and used MPC to watch it. However, it seems that the movie is now acting really weird. The lower part of the screen is now black and the upper half has been divided into 2 small screens showing the same scene upside down. When I remove the subtitles, the video reverts to its original shape.

So this is my problem. I hope I can get some help from you guys who have helped me several times in the past. I'll be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    gosh, are you making subtitles from scratch ?

Why don't you use SubRip format instead ?

Type the subtitles in regular text in Notepad, then put a timing line at the beginning of the file, and a timing line at the end of the file....between them just copy-paste the first timeline.

Like This :

00:01:13,485 --> 00:01:14,921
    O que é isso?

Nada.

A Jenny sabe?

01:33:28,100 --> 01:33:29,917
    O meu nome é Rogue.

As you see....lines 2 and 3 has the same timeline, you must only care about the correct START and END, of the first speech and last speech

Then, you can use Subtitles Workshop to sync all...readjusting times, and correcting FPS

As for rendering the subtitles, use DirectVobSub with MPC