VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Let me preface by saying I completely understand the difference between stereo and mono.

    My Hi8 camera only has a mono out and so all this stuff I cap'd is only coming from one speaker.. Im trying to figure out how to convince Virtualdub to duplicate the audio onto the other speaker..

    I tried simply choosing stereo under Audio>Conversion .. but that didnt do it..

    is there an easy-ish way of accomplishing this?

    thanks,

    nopk
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    Sort of...........

    You can demux or extract the audio to WAV and open it in Audacity or similar, then 'clone' the existing channel to a second channel and output as a stereo track. If you want to get 'fancy', you can modify both channels with reverb or other subtle changes and get closer to a stereo 'effect'. Then you can add or 'mux' the audio back with your video.

    I don't know the output format of your camera. MPEG or AVI type? AVI, you can demux or extract as a WAV with VirtualDub or similar. VD Mod can also extract from a MPEG. Then after processing with Audacity or similar, you will have to mux or add it back with the video. Depends on what end format you want.

    There are other tools and methods, but that one works for me most times. Good new, it's all freeware.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member thecoalman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Search PM
    Easiest way is to get a mono to stereo adapter, these are available at you local electronics store. If you're in the US Radio Shack always has them.

    I don't use Vdub that much but you can extract the audio track, then use Audacity to convert to stereo.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    damnit. I knew I shouldve just built a stereo/mono adaptor before I started caping all this the other day.. but figured "how hard could it be to fix in software" ..

    camera is an analog hi8.. so.. output format is nothing.

    thanks for the tips, I'll look into ripping the track off and cloning it..

    nopk
    Quote Quote  
  5. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    It's not that hard. Audacity inputs and outputs WAV, MP3, Ogg and a lesser known format I forget. But WAV is fairly universal. You can save it out from Audacity again as a WAV, then convert it to different formats. I use ffmpeggui to convert it to AC3 format. Then I use that with the video in a authoring program and output as DVD format. Or if you use TMPGEnc encoder, you can input the video and WAV audio and the program can convert the audio to MPEG-1 Layer2 as it encodes the video to MPEG-2.

    Just a few options.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Reaper
    Load the mono wave twice on separate tracks, play around a bit with them then render them. It's a fun and easy program....REALLY.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member thecoalman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by nopk
    damnit. I knew I shouldve just built a stereo/mono adaptor
    Build? There like $5 US.
    Quote Quote  
  8. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by thecoalman
    Originally Posted by nopk
    damnit. I knew I shouldve just built a stereo/mono adaptor
    Build? There like $5 US.
    $1 at the dollar store
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by thecoalman
    Originally Posted by nopk
    damnit. I knew I shouldve just built a stereo/mono adaptor
    Build? There like $5 US.
    yup.. but at 7 pm on a tuesday theres not a radio shack open around here.... and Ive got everything I need around here to slap one together..

    Brett
    Quote Quote  
  10. Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    beautiful
    Search Comp PM
    nopk, any wave editor will let you create either real stereo (in your case it'll be dual mono of course) or a joint stereo file from your mono file.
    You dont need to buy any expensive soft, even i.e. Nero's own built-in Wave Editor is capable of this.
    Its a very simple process, there is no quality loss or anything.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Or instead of an adapter just buy a simple mixer. Behringer do some inexpensive good quality ones.

    http://www.behringer.com/802/index.cfm?lang=eng

    It's much easier to fine tune volume levels using a mixer than the Windows volume control. You can pan the signal left or right. I think with just a signal plugged into the left input it feeds to both channels automatically anyway.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Use AviSynth. Try this simple script:

    Code:
    vid=AviSource("myvideo.avi")
    
    audioL=GetChannel(vid,1)
    audioR=GetChannel(vid,2)
    audio=MergeChannels(audioL, audioL)#
    
    return AudioDub(vid, audio)
    You can change the line marked with '#' to use the right channel, or to swap L and R.


    Darryl
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by dphirschler
    Use AviSynth. Try this simple script:

    Code:
    vid=AviSource("myvideo.avi")
    
    audioL=GetChannel(vid,1)
    audioR=GetChannel(vid,2)
    audio=MergeChannels(audioL, audioL)#
    
    return AudioDub(vid, audio)
    You can change the line marked with '#' to use the right channel, or to swap L and R.
    thanks for this.. I played with it a bit last night.. the generated channel (L) seems slighty different than the original channel (R) .. higher volume? or cleaner maybe? not sure.. but not a big deal... Im listening to it with headphones so I probably won't notice on speakers..

    Im curious though.. did you mean the # marked line to read:

    Code:
    audio=MergeChannels(audioR, audioL)
    or the audioL,audioL you posted..

    I tried reading the syntax for the mergechannels command at the avisynth website.. but couldnt quite wrap my head around it.. http://avisynth.org/mediawiki/MergeChannels .. I think as Ive no experience with the terms etc.. or maybe Im just slow

    thanks for the help,

    nopk
    Quote Quote  
  14. Originally Posted by nopk
    Originally Posted by dphirschler
    Use AviSynth. Try this simple script:

    Code:
    vid=AviSource("myvideo.avi")
    
    audioL=GetChannel(vid,1)
    audioR=GetChannel(vid,2)
    audio=MergeChannels(audioL, audioL)#
    
    return AudioDub(vid, audio)
    You can change the line marked with '#' to use the right channel, or to swap L and R.
    thanks for this.. I played with it a bit last night.. the generated channel (L) seems slighty different than the original channel (R) .. higher volume? or cleaner maybe? not sure.. but not a big deal... Im listening to it with headphones so I probably won't notice on speakers..

    Im curious though.. did you mean the # marked line to read:

    Code:
    audio=MergeChannels(audioR, audioL)
    or the audioL,audioL you posted..

    I tried reading the syntax for the mergechannels command at the avisynth website.. but couldnt quite wrap my head around it.. http://avisynth.org/mediawiki/MergeChannels .. I think as Ive no experience with the terms etc.. or maybe Im just slow

    thanks for the help,

    nopk
    dphirschler meant to to use audioL for both positions. The Getchannel(vid,1) means get the left channel of the audio in video clip "vid", GetChannel(vid,2) means get the right channel of the audio. You said you were only hearing audio out of one side, but didn't specify which side. His example uses MergeChannels to put the left channel on the left side and also on the right side. If it turns out that the audio is actually coming out of the right side, then use MergeChannels(audioR, audioR) to put the audio from the right channel on both sides'
    "Shut up Wesley!" -- Captain Jean-Luc Picard
    Buy My Books
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by gadgetguy
    dphirschler meant to to use audioL for both positions. The Getchannel(vid,1) means get the left channel of the audio in video clip "vid", GetChannel(vid,2) means get the right channel of the audio. You said you were only hearing audio out of one side, but didn't specify which side. His example uses MergeChannels to put the left channel on the left side and also on the right side. If it turns out that the audio is actually coming out of the right side, then use MergeChannels(audioR, audioR) to put the audio from the right channel on both sides'
    ah ha.

    When I saw merge I assumed it had to merge 2 things.. so therefore merging left with left didnt make sense. In my case, I have right channel, so I'll do audior and audior and be rockin.

    thanks for the clarification..

    nopk
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads