VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Greetings.
    Newbie here.
    I hope that you can help me with ideas and pointers to do this project..

I've noticed over time that, as my little kids watch children TV series, their English develops, much better than what they learn at school. It must be the exciting stories that attract their attention, driving them to want to know the meaning of the dialogue..
    But that helps them only in aural English, not in writing or spelling.

So, I came up with this idea:
    If I can record a few episodes, and add English hard subtitles, karaoke style, then use a tool or script that makes the video pauses at the end of each dialogue line, to allow the kid to read the words slowly, and probably an option to repeat that video part, as much as needed, before advancing to the next line of dialogue, at the click of a button, it would be a great tool for kids to learn the English language, reading, spelling and aural together, at their own pace, and with something they already love to watch.

Any idea what tools do I need for that project please?
    I've just downloaded Aegisub v2, and I know some basics about Virtualdub.
    Are they good for such project? any suggestions on how to do this please.
    Or should I use totally different tools?

Please advise. Many thanks in advance.

(btw, I got these ideas as I watched this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a4uLfei-0kU )
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    anyone please?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    please, anyone?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I'd think about some advanced Video DVD authoring, using something like DVD-Lab Pro. Certainly not your "first authoring project".