VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2
FirstFirst 1 2
Results 31 to 43 of 43
Thread
  1. Why the need for expensive custom "brain" to basically run a Powerpoint presentation? I don't get it.

    Docs clearly state you need a PC connection. You're spending a couple grand here, RTFM.

    If you have never worked with PC text displayed on a TV, which you apparently haven't, there is an extreme need to get the resolutions both as high as possible and compatible. Otherwise it will look like absolute crap. If there is anything remotely resembling fine print, you really need to get this right or it will be unreadable.

    Adapters are bad news. S-Video is not good enough. Choices are either a TV with VGA input or a video card with Component or HDMI output. HDMI would be vastly superior to the Component.

    What exactly do these guys provide, other than a custom-built, non-standard PC? Do they create the presentation, or provide live content? Why don't they use an HDMI card? This is a no-brainer for the brain providers.

    I've got something similar running on a 5-yr-old PC with a custom card, running into a Cable TV system with the content updated by two little old ladies. Hardware less than $500.00, I didn't design it but I do maintain it.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member Heywould3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    always on the move
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by edDV
    Originally Posted by Heywould3
    Originally Posted by edDV
    Originally Posted by Heywould3
    the 47" lcd that captain bought is full 1080P HD. what i was refering to is if the tv you have has a native resolution of 1366x768 then you need to set your brain to that resolution. if its 1920x1080 then you need to set the brain to that resolution. LCD an plasma monitors look very blury and washed out if not fed their proper resolution.

    the only 47 on costco site is this one http://www.costco.com/Browse/Product.aspx?Prodid=11195976&whse=BC&topnav=&browse=&lang=en-US

    since thats a 1920x1080 native and the brain only puts out 1360X768 the pic will not look right. it will be useable just not as sharp as if it were fed the proper resolution. to show you what i mean. if you have a laptop around change the settings from their native display to something else and see what i mean.

    EDIT: i read further in the details of the LCD and it says as a monitor the resolution is 1366x768 SO i guess as a VGA monitor your "brain" will work just fine..
    Where do you see 1366x1080 native for the Vizio GV47L ? It appears to be 1920x1080. If that is the case, the TV will internally upscale. The quality of the upscale depends on the processing chipset in the TV. All pixels would need to be interpolated.

    I didnt say 1366x1080 anywhere. but my whole point is.. that if the lcd is 1920x1080 native shouldnt you send it 1920x1080? not 1366x768 as the spec sheet says for that model
    Sorry for the typo.
    The spec sheets I looked at implied native 1920x1080 for the Vizio GV47L . I was just asking for a source that says 1366x768.
    here is a screen. its on the details page on the vizio site under that model, note last line on picture
    link here ----> http://www.vizio.com/products/detail.aspx?pid=20
    Quote Quote  
  3. Just FYI, the Vizio 47" will run 1920x1080i via the RGB/VGA port. I have mine hooked up that way right now. Looks great playing HD-DVDs with PowerDVD.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Heywould3
    Originally Posted by edDV
    Originally Posted by Heywould3
    Originally Posted by edDV
    Originally Posted by Heywould3
    the 47" lcd that captain bought is full 1080P HD. what i was refering to is if the tv you have has a native resolution of 1366x768 then you need to set your brain to that resolution. if its 1920x1080 then you need to set the brain to that resolution. LCD an plasma monitors look very blury and washed out if not fed their proper resolution.

    the only 47 on costco site is this one http://www.costco.com/Browse/Product.aspx?Prodid=11195976&whse=BC&topnav=&browse=&lang=en-US

    since thats a 1920x1080 native and the brain only puts out 1360X768 the pic will not look right. it will be useable just not as sharp as if it were fed the proper resolution. to show you what i mean. if you have a laptop around change the settings from their native display to something else and see what i mean.

    EDIT: i read further in the details of the LCD and it says as a monitor the resolution is 1366x768 SO i guess as a VGA monitor your "brain" will work just fine..
    Where do you see 1366x1080 native for the Vizio GV47L ? It appears to be 1920x1080. If that is the case, the TV will internally upscale. The quality of the upscale depends on the processing chipset in the TV. All pixels would need to be interpolated.

    I didnt say 1366x1080 anywhere. but my whole point is.. that if the lcd is 1920x1080 native shouldnt you send it 1920x1080? not 1366x768 as the spec sheet says for that model
    Sorry for the typo.
    The spec sheets I looked at implied native 1920x1080 for the Vizio GV47L . I was just asking for a source that says 1366x768.
    here is a screen. its on the details page on the vizio site under that model, note last line on picture
    link here ----> http://www.vizio.com/products/detail.aspx?pid=20
    Thanks. That means the VGA port is capped to 1366x768. It's an issue with the processing chipset. That is independent of the LCD panel resolution which still appears to be 1920x1080.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Just for the record, mine goes in to 1920x1080i mode. Both the video card and the TV report that. Its a beautifull thing..
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by dun4cheap
    Just for the record, mine goes in to 1920x1080i mode. Both the video card and the TV report that. Its a beautifull thing..
    It may appear to but 1080i isn't supported over VGA. It must be RGB progressive.
    Quote Quote  
  7. If that is the case, I wonder why it reports 1920x1080 it would not make sense. Running in a lower resolution is noticeably different
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    The TV reports 1080i?

    What is your display card and what are your settings?
    Quote Quote  
  9. Right now it shows 1920x1080 60hz RGB mode.

    I have an ATI 9600 Hooked up to it.
    Quote Quote  
  10. I also have a Viewsonic 32" on my main system running with an x1600. It can do 1920x1080i at 30hz, via vga and hdmi.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by dun4cheap
    Right now it shows 1920x1080 60hz RGB mode.

    I have an ATI 9600 Hooked up to it.
    Define "it". What is "it"? The ATI-9600 can output 1080i over analog component but VGA must be progressive by definition.

    When it does send 1080i over analog component, the 1080i is created from a progressive frame buffer. The ATI 9xxx cards don't pass 1080i without deinterlace.
    Quote Quote  
  12. I have my desktop area set to 1920x1080 and 30hz... Nothing fancy...
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member Heywould3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    always on the move
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by dun4cheap
    I have my desktop area set to 1920x1080 and 30hz... Nothing fancy...
    my 42 will also put out 1080i to the monitor at 30hz but there is obvious flicker. i have the GT8600 video card. LCDs output progressive. so i think what you are seeing is what its fed not what it outputs. my tv will take 480i/p 720p and 1080i and it will tell me what the source is. but i think there is some sort of conversion done to the signal creating a P (progressive) picture out of any source.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads