VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I recently bought an LG RH266 Hard Drive DVD Recorder. After looking at some Region free hacks I managed to get at the Op-Codes and change OP6 to 06 (which made it region free). At the same time I inadvertently changed OP1 so I am not sure of the original value.

    Now the HD recording and playback works fine. Any DVDs I burn play fine (pretty much) but any commercial DVDs either refuse to be recognised by the player, or if they do play will stop after a short period and freeze or refuse to play in anyway (often at the layer transition point i.e. halfway through the movie or after a few minutes of playing).

    Can anyone advise me of the correct settings for the OP codes (you can access these by holding EJECT on the player whilst pressing CLEAR on the remote control for a few secs)?
    Or can anyone advise what may be causing the problem otherwise as I have worked through all the possible entires for the first digit of OP1 (which is all I am sure I changed).

    Any help VERY MUCH appreciated.

    P.S If you need any technical info on the player I can supply.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member Krispy Kritter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    St Louis, MO USA
    Search Comp PM
    What you changed is different that what is reported in the DVD Hacks section: https://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks?dvdplayer=LG+RH266+&hits=50&Search=Search
    Google is your Friend
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Hmmm, true. Both valus for OP6 show region free. Does anyone know the OP code mapping? What I'm really after is finding the factory defaults.

    At the moment it doesnt matter what I set OP6 to, it still won't play the discs....
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member Krispy Kritter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    St Louis, MO USA
    Search Comp PM
    If this model is still sold in stores, you could get the info yourself.

    Not trying to be sarcastic or anything, but no one with this model seems to be helping.
    Google is your Friend
    Quote Quote  
  5. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Freedonia
    Search Comp PM
    I wish I could offer helpful advice. The only thing I can think of is that you might search for an LG forum, if one exists, and perhaps there you can find some experts who can help you. I have to say that changing hexadecimal values via remote control gets my vote for the ugliest, most user unfriendly region free hack I've seen yet.
    Quote Quote  
  6. I have to say that changing hexadecimal values via remote control gets my vote for the ugliest, most user unfriendly region free hack I've seen yet.

    The problem is that people just post the codes that work for them but not fully explain how the OP codes work and how to change them, and of course, people often want fast and easy ...
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member Krispy Kritter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    St Louis, MO USA
    Search Comp PM
    Not to mention the manufacturer likely doesn't want/expect users to be changing them in the first place. If they wanted to provide a region free player, they would make it easier.

    Of course this is all off topic.
    Google is your Friend
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for all your advice. I've had a few other avenues suggested to me as well by members of this forum. I'll keep this thread updated if I have any progress. And certainly bear this in mind next time I buy a DVD player
    Quote Quote  
  9. HELLO

    I HAVE A DVD LG RH 266

    I CHANGED TOO THE OP1 CODE WHEN I WAS CHANGING THE OP6 CODE TO 8F

    DO YOU KNOW THE ORIGNAL CODE FOR OP1 ?

    I READ ON OTHER FORUM 0C OR 2a OR 28 But it doesn t work on mine ...

    THANKS FOR YOUR ANSWER

    OLIVIER
    Quote Quote  
  10. Someone posted the default OP codes for a RH277:
    https://forum.videohelp.com/topic335906.html#1752667

    Not sure how LG's numbering works for EU machines, but you can Google the info and maybe it's similar enough to your machine that those OP codes listed are the same. That or compare it to your own OP codes.

    I'm glad the first thing I did was write down the default OP codes to my LRH780 before attempting anything .
    Quote Quote  
  11. Hy,


    No the code for LGRH277 doesn't work, somebody has the OP1 code for DVD LG RH 266 ?

    Olivier
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Hi

    The same Region hack worked for my RH266 and I have posted my original codes here https://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks/lg-rh266/8197

    Remember, these may be different on machines bought in different countries?

    Hope this helps
    John
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads