VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I'm just getting into the Video business. I'm using Panasonic 456 SVHS Cameras. I have the ADS Pyro A/V Link(Wondering if the ADVC-100 is better?) But, I wanted to know is it possible to stream more than 1 cameras to the computer at the same time or do I have to stream them one by one? Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Personally, I like Canopus products better, so I'd go with the ADVC-100, etc. But if you ALREADY have an ADS Pyro, go with that. Either converts/digitizes the analog into DV-formatted video (and audio). It WOULD probably be better to have 2 similar or identical capture devices, though.
    Then it's a matter of how much horsepower is needed to capture 2 DV streams (and their attendant bitrate needs).
    This very much depends upon how many totally independent Firewire ports you have (not on the same card, etc), the specs of your computer, drive space, hard drive & bus speeds, and general PC app overhead (should be VERY minimal).
    It can be done--check out Enosoft DV Processor or Stereoscopic Player or Stereoscopic Multiplexer, both of which are proven to do 2-stream captures.

What hardware do you have?

Scott
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Couple of questions:

When you say "stream" do you mean capturing the video tape to the computer or are you streaming live camera feeds to the internet?