VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am just getting started in the realm of actual video editing. I have read quite a few reviews of the different software that is available. I was wanting to get a recommendation from some users here as to which software I should use. I would like something that doesn't cost an arm and a leg and is fairly easy to learn to use.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Ulead Video Studio is hard to beat for all around. Good encoder, plenty of features and settings usually found in the pro-sumer editors. It's all in one package but it's worth foir the editor alone.

Other than that I guess you would have to give a budjet, what you plan on doing? Just experimenting? Nearly every product has a trial version.
    Quote Quote  
  3. You are going to need a LOT more hard drive space. 10x what you have now, at a minimum.

When you purchase your capture hardware, it will most likely come with a decent editor free.

$500 will get you one of the two or three considered the best. Ease-of-use is not a feature of high-end products.

Having used many, my advice would be to use what you get for free until you find a feature which you must have that this product does not provide. Then find a product which provides that feature, but keep the older software as it will almost certainly do something the new one does not, or do it in a way you find easier to use.

By editing, what exactly do you mean? Simple cutting? Fancy transitions, blends, and effects?

Or possibly nice menus - This is completely different software from an editor.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM