VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have 2 computers on 2 separate floors of my home. I have never needed to connect them before but I just recently received an Ipod Touch with wifi capablities and want to wi fi my home, so I can connect the Touch online and the other computer as well. I have XP on both computers and DSL on my main one, hooked up with an usb modem. Any suggestions on what is the simpliest to set up and use? I'm a complete novice at these things so the easier thw better. Thanks for any help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Does your modem also have a Ethernet out connector? If so, you just need a simple wireless router and a wireless card or two for your other computer(s), unless you have hard wiring already. (Cat 5 cables) Either way, the router can give you a hardware firewall and the WiFi ability. If your modem just has a USB out, it's a bit harder.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    The modem I'm using has an ethernet port on the back. The main computer also has an ethernet port but the older one on the 2nd floor doesn't. Will this matter? I will probably use an usb adapter on it to connect. Does anyone have any brand suggestions? Something better to use or easier, so on. Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  4. You should be able to use a USB wireless adapter on the other computer.
    As far as brands, I've had good luck with Netgear, Linksys, and D-Link. I would recommend that you use the same brand for all of the devices. The wireless router will connect to the ethernet port of the modem. The main computer will connect via cable to one of the ports of the router. The other computer and Ipod will connect via wireless. You should be able to find a router/USB adapter combination at a decent price.
    "Shut up Wesley!" -- Captain Jean-Luc Picard
    Buy My Books
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM