VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Is there any differences in performance if I Use IDE or SATA Internal or External HD via USB Port for capturing, editing and authoring video in a PC?

I mean I am studying if I use an external or internal HD for those tasks and if the external HD will not get errors or things like that.

Thanks in advance!!!
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Yes, USB External is slower. Will you get errors? - depends on your system speed, what other tasks are running, how much memory, etc. etc.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    A better option might be a external SATA hard drive with a eSATA interface. That would have exactly the same performance as a SATA drive in the computer. Even if you need to install a SATA controller card, it would be a vast improvement over USB.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    My System is P4 2.4 memory 2 G priority at the time will be for video like I said before!

Do You think Sata could do better compared to IDE for external job, but both in a external case!
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    redwudz

What means eSata?

I have today an internal Sata HD 250 in a PCI card with the OS WIN 2K could I install a bigger lets say 750 G external Sata HD to transfer from the existing internal HD Sata the OS and data and after that to place the 750 in place of the 250 then becoming the OS disk?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    If you have a spare SATA connection on the motherboard or your PCI card, you can install one of these rear panel adapters:

eSATA (External SATA) is just a different SATA connector, used for most SATA external drives. But you could also use a regular SATA cable to your external drive. The drive would have it's own power supply either way.