VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 125 of 125
FirstFirst ... 25 75 115 123 124 125
Results 3,721 to 3,737 of 3737
Thread
  1. Member manolito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Sorry, I'm out of ideas...
    Quote Quote  
  2. No worries, thanks for helping me with a workaround solution.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Hi MrC, in version 288,
    If you add a source file without audio A2D does not generate an Avisynth script and of course it doesn't work. For files with audio, if you remove the audio from the project, the avisynth script is not updated
    Worked OK in 287
    Last edited by davexnet; 12th Jan 2019 at 17:22.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member manolito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Nice catch, I can confirm your findings..

    It was probably caused by this change:
    - Added management of 'Default=Yes/No' audio and subs tracks tags from MediaInfo, instead of assuming that 1st track is the default one
    And the reason nobody caught it is probably that only very few people try to create DVD titles without any audio track...
    (Do the DVD specs even allow it? )


    But fortunately there is an easy workaround:
    For files with audio, if you remove the audio from the project, the avisynth script is not updated
    This is true, but it has no effect on the final conversion result. All audio related calls in the script are ignored if there is no source audio track, the result is a perfect DVD title without any audio,

    So the workaround for source files without audio is straightforward:
    1. Load the source file
    2. Add any audio file on your HDD to the project
    3. Remove the audio track right away just after adding it.

    This will make A2D create an AVS script with the audio related calls. But during the conversion these audio calls will be ignored, giving you a perfect silent video only DVD title.


    Cheers
    manolito
    Last edited by manolito; 12th Jan 2019 at 20:19.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Manolito I'm just reporting it on the forum so _MrC_ can evaluate it, that's all - but thanks for the analysis
    Quote Quote  
  6. @davexnet

    thanks for the bug report, the following hotfix should solve both the issues you have found

    https://sites.google.com/site/avstodvdmain/AVStoDVD_288_Hotfix_190113.zip

    Let me know

    Bye

    MrC

    AVStoDVD Homepage
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Hi MrC
    That was quick !

    Thanks for the hotfix
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member manolito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    That was quick indeed, but I believe it was a little too quick. Sorry to spoil the party...

    Handling source titles without audio now works fine, but source titles with multiple audio tracks where the default audio track is not track #1 will not load any more. It works fine in the stable version 2.88.

    I tried it with 2 source files, one in an MKV container, the other one was MP4. The source had AVC video and 3 AAC audio tracks. The third audio track was flagged as "Default". When I try to load theses sources into AVStoDVD I get an error popup telling me:
    Error 9
    Index outside of the valid range
    Looks like the old thing: You fix one issue and break something else. Or you should have been a bit more superstitious and not published a hot fix on the 13th...


    Cheers
    manolito
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Diligent work manolito ...
    Last edited by davexnet; 13th Jan 2019 at 17:55.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Looks like a new hotfix is needed. Thanks guys for the reports.



    Bye
    MrC

    AVStoDVD Homepage
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member manolito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Yes, and this new hotfix does it. Thanks very much...

    In a couple of tests I did try to break it, but I couldn't. Everything works as expected, no problems here.


    Cheers
    manolito
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member steptoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by digicube View Post
    I tried lavs = "l0", lavd = "l0" and it still produces oversized DVD-5 albeit the smallest oversize of all the methods I've tried, 8MB oversized.
    Try setting a custom sized DVD, slightly smaller than standard DVD-5 by say 50MB

    That way if its oversized it should still fit a DVD-5 when burnt, if you understand my thinking ....
    Quote Quote  
  13. Hi, I just downloaded AVStoDVD and thanks for a very useful program. I am using it to burn some DVDs of my own content just ripped from VHS. I am also remembering the joy of an afternoon making coasters! I also installed ImgBurn as required. On my very first test of trying to make a DVD with 3 videos and menu, AVStoDVD seemed to have an informative GUI replrting what it was doing - pass 1, pass2 and so on. Now - although it makes a burnable DVD iso OK - this GUI seems to have disappeared. When I click start, a cmd window opens and you can see the ffmpeg working, then another encoder cms window, then muxman and then, when finished, the main AVStoDVD reappears. Is this correct or have I clicked some setting in error? Also, when AVStoDVD starts up, right at the end it there's a quick error at the bottom - something about can't find java or javascript (too quick to write down). Is this important? Thanks, Mike
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Java is only needed if certain bit mapped subtitles are used ( BDSup2Subs need it)
    It's possible everything ended OK, the ISO or video_ts folder will be in the output directory along with the associated log.
    If it looks good you can manually burn it with IMGBURN
    Quote Quote  
  15. Thanks for your reply. I tested again and found that authoring a DVD from 3 videos uses HCenc which has a GUI showing you what's going on. But if I use just one video (the same first one as before), it uses ffmpeg.exe which just shows in a cmd window. The different processes confused me as they looked different. Both worked, though.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member manolito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    The reason for this is that you use the default "Smart Mode" for encoder selection. For very high video bitrates ffmpeg will be used, for medium to lower bitrates A2D switches to HCenc. This default behavior can be changed either globally under "Preferences" or individually for each source file under "View/Edit Title Settings".

    AVStoDVD is very user configurable. You should take the time to study the help file and go through all the options under "Preferences".


    Cheers
    manolito
    Quote Quote  
  17. Hi manolito, thanks, will study. Just this time I needed a quick fix to test some VHS scanned by someone else. I don't recall changing any settings between the two tests. I only clicked the Start button. The test with 3 videos used video1, video2, video3. This chose HCenc. But when I used any of the 3 videos individually: video1 or video2 or video3, it then chose ffmpeg. I mention only for your info, from my side it worked and I think I know what to look for. Please give my regards to Big John and Victoria

    Cheers, Mike
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads