VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Consider supporting us by disable adblocker or buy Replay Video Capture or PlayON and record Netflix!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 122 of 122
FirstFirst ... 22 72 112 120 121 122
Results 3,631 to 3,652 of 3652
Thread
  1. Yo seeker47,


    Howbout this pinhallOfame?

    http://www.vpforums.org/

    Probably the best website for pinballs like you and i.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member manolito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by _MrC_ View Post
    Meanwhile, as workaround, you have 2 options:

    - Export the chapters from your mkv and use the Import Chapters tool (Edit Title > Chapters)
    ........
    Thanks MrC for the explanation, I do have a couple of additional remarks for this method...

    A2D can only import chapters in the IFOEdit Celltimes format (for exporting chapters it also supports the OGG format). This means that you need a method to export the chapters from the source MKV in the Celltimes format. MKVExtract cannot do this, so MKVMergeGUI-2 and also GPower-MKVMergeGui have no option to do this. The only software which can do this directly without an additional conversion step (from OGG to Celltimes) is chapterEditor by hubblec4. But unfortunately this tool relies on the correct versions of MKVToolNix.

    The version of MKVToolNix which comes with A2D is 6 years old and VERY deprecated. Only older versions of chapterEditor work with this version. It makes sense to install a current version of MKVToolNix (unless you are still using WinXP) and then use the current version of chapterEditor.

    Importing chapters as frame numbers also has a few more implications if A2D is used to change the frame rate, especially if a standards conversion from NTSC to PAL or from PAL to NTSC (with Soft Pulldown) comes into play. The chapter points will only be correct if they are recalculated using the "Presentation Framerate" (NOT the Encoding Framerate). For an NTSC target with Pulldown a frame rate of 29.97 and not 23.976 must be used. If A2D is told to employ PAL speedup or NTSC speeddown then users need to be careful again to use the correct reference frame rate.


    All this leads me to a feature request for AVStoDVD (I think djerk will agree):
    It would be real nice if A2D could import chapters in the OGG format additionally. Users would not need to pay any attention to the correct frame numbers, A2D would do all the math. Probably a lot of work for MrC, so I'm not sure how far up on the ToDo list this request will end.


    Cheers
    manolito
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    North Pole
    Search Comp PM
    I got the following error with the Release 2.8.7 Alpha build 171212 but it did make the DVD successfully, tho it is oversized at 4,8Gb so I have to use DVDShrink or DVDFab to re-encode it to a normal 4,3Gb DVD-R ...
    For some reason I can not upload the image here,so I link it to an external site..
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	avstodvd_error.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	155.7 KB
ID:	45139  

    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by manolito View Post
    The version of MKVToolNix which comes with A2D is 6 years old and VERY deprecated. Only older versions of chapterEditor work with this version. It makes sense to install a current version of MKVToolNix (unless you are still using WinXP) and then use the current version of chapterEditor.
    The next A2D release will have both MKVToolNix and MediaInfo updated to the more recent releases.

    Originally Posted by manolito View Post
    All this leads me to a feature request for AVStoDVD (I think djerk will agree):
    It would be real nice if A2D could import chapters in the OGG format additionally. Users would not need to pay any attention to the correct frame numbers, A2D would do all the math. Probably a lot of work for MrC, so I'm not sure how far up on the ToDo list this request will end.
    Ok, will do.

    Originally Posted by Kamala View Post
    I got the following error with the Release 2.8.7 Alpha build 171212 but it did make the DVD successfully, tho it is oversized at 4,8Gb so I have to use DVDShrink or DVDFab to re-encode it to a normal 4,3Gb DVD-R ...
    For some reason I can not upload the image here,so I link it to an external site..
    Hi Kamala, welcome there. A couple of questions: do you get the same error with the latest AVStoDVD 2.8.7 stable build? If yes, could you upload the project log file?



    Bye
    MrC

    AVStoDVD Homepage
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member Seeker47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    drifting, somewhere on the Sea of Cynicism
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by manolito View Post

    The warning you get if you have installed ffdshow and LAV Filters at the same time is just a precaution. If you have set the Preferred DirectShow Filters to LAV then the LAV Filters will get used even if ffdshow is also installed. One thing which might cause problems is the splitter. With ffdshow you need to install a separate splitter, and in most cases this will be the Haali splitter. Haali has the nasty habit to put itself to the foreground even if the LAV splitter was installed later (with a higher filter merit). This may or may not work, you need to find out for yourself.


    Cheers
    manolito

    Does that mean I should ditch Haali ? (I can't be sure of this offhand, but there may be some other installed programs having this dependency ? Not even sure how I would go about checking that out.)
    When in Las Vegas, don't miss the Pinball Hall of Fame Museum http://www.pinballmuseum.org/ -- over 150 tables from 6+ decades of this gradually disappearing American art form.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member Seeker47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    drifting, somewhere on the Sea of Cynicism
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Kamala View Post
    I got the following error with the Release 2.8.7 Alpha build 171212 but it did make the DVD successfully, tho it is oversized at 4,8Gb so I have to use DVDShrink or DVDFab to re-encode it to a normal 4,3Gb DVD-R ...
    ]
    DVD-RB would be a third option.
    When in Las Vegas, don't miss the Pinball Hall of Fame Museum http://www.pinballmuseum.org/ -- over 150 tables from 6+ decades of this gradually disappearing American art form.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    North Pole
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Seeker47 View Post
    Originally Posted by Kamala View Post
    I got the following error with the Release 2.8.7 Alpha build 171212 but it did make the DVD successfully, tho it is oversized at 4,8Gb so I have to use DVDShrink or DVDFab to re-encode it to a normal 4,3Gb DVD-R ...
    ]
    DVD-RB would be a third option.
    True, that would be the best option..
    I have it installed aswell.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Kamala View Post
    Originally Posted by Seeker47 View Post
    Originally Posted by Kamala View Post
    I got the following error with the Release 2.8.7 Alpha build 171212 but it did make the DVD successfully, tho it is oversized at 4,8Gb so I have to use DVDShrink or DVDFab to re-encode it to a normal 4,3Gb DVD-R ...
    ]
    DVD-RB would be a third option.
    True, that would be the best option..
    I have it installed aswell.
    actually if you post your log, it would be helpful in determining what went wrong,
    99% of the time AVStoDVD gets the bitrate right
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member manolito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Seeker47 View Post
    Does that mean I should ditch Haali ? (I can't be sure of this offhand, but there may be some other installed programs having this dependency ? Not even sure how I would go about checking that out.)
    Haali development has stopped quite a while ago, and in my experience the LAV splitter can do everything (almost...) what Haali does. At least for me all software which claims that it needs Haali works with LAV splitter, too. Unless the software explicitly checks for the presence of Haali.

    Here is what nevcairiel (LAV developer) says about Haali:
    However, some other splitters register in a "bad" way and force all players
    to use them. The Haali Media Splitter is one of those, and to give priority
    to the LAVFSplitter you have to either uninstall Haali or rename its .ax file
    at least temporarily.
    This does not mean that the LAV video and audio filters do not work with Haali. But if you get some weird audio-video sync problems with certain source files then the first thing I would do is disable Haali.

    In AVStoDVD there is an easy way to determine which splitter gets actually used. Under "Codecs" create a DirectShow Filter Graph. The box to the left is the splitter. Right-click on it and choose "Properties". This will tell you if Haali or LAV is used as your splitter.


    Cheers
    manolito
    Last edited by manolito; 12th Apr 2018 at 23:15.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member Seeker47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    drifting, somewhere on the Sea of Cynicism
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by djerk View Post
    Yo seeker47,


    Howbout this pinhallOfame?

    http://www.vpforums.org/

    Probably the best website for pinballs like you and i.
    Thanks for the link, will check into it. Don't want to wander too far afield of this thread except very briefly, but I have heard from fellow hobbyists on VH from time to time. Pinside.com seems to be the major online enthusiast community that has come to my attention. Besides my longtime sig, the museum in Banning CA. (so far only open to the public a few times per year, unfortunately) is a wonderful facility, and less than half the drive to LV.

    At first glance, that forum seems to concentrate on the virtual game -- a somewhat controversial category. It's true that some major strides have been made in the simulations. I've sampled a few of them. But I have some doubts as to whether they will ever actually be able to duplicate the "real thing" experience.
    When in Las Vegas, don't miss the Pinball Hall of Fame Museum http://www.pinballmuseum.org/ -- over 150 tables from 6+ decades of this gradually disappearing American art form.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Jutht u wait u thilly ... hi.heaux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Search PM
    AVStoDVD Error! AviSynth is NOT installed. Most of encoding routines will not work.

    I researched this error code and followed the advice to install it to the same directory as AVStoDVD. I still get this error. What am I doing wrong??
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by hi.heaux View Post
    AVStoDVD Error! AviSynth is NOT installed. Most of encoding routines will not work.

    I researched this error code and followed the advice to install it to the same directory as AVStoDVD. I still get this error. What am I doing wrong??
    What advice did you follow?
    Download it from here and install to default locations

    https://www.videohelp.com/download/AviSynth_260.exe
    Quote Quote  
  13. Jutht u wait u thilly ... hi.heaux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    What advice did you follow?
    This post.

    I did download it here at Videohelp. And before you ask, I installed with the full installer, not Portable.

    And I've been reading every Wiki, every guide — for both of the programs — and every similar query here on Videohelp. Like blues legend Willie Dixon first composed (and Led Zeppelin made famous): I can't quit you babe, but I have to put you down for a little while! During the install I basically left every default in place, with the exception that I have the program installed to a different directory. This looks like such a great program, I just wish I understood why it won't work.

    On a whim I dropped an MP4 'tube video into the main interface of AVStoDVD and changed very few of its options — just to see if I could get anything in the program to work — when suddenly a Command window popped up and the program began compiling (something) into a huge .M2V file, roughly the equivalent of a blank DVD. I have FAB DVD 7 and (as you can guess) FAB couldn't find anything in the directory, even when I tried its Raw/Mobile method. That shouldn't come as any surprise to anyone since what it compiled was a mangled something-or-other without AviSynth.

    In researching all possible conflicts I read something about FAVC conflicting with (something). I do have this installed. I also have a log from AVStoDVD. What do you think?

    EDIT:
    I didn't install IMGBURN because I have Ultra ISO (and a bunch of other ISO tools) and my plan was to write the ISO — as I do currently when backing up my movies — and then burn it using any of a handful of rippers I use.
    Last edited by hi.heaux; 14th Apr 2018 at 20:09.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by hi.heaux View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    What advice did you follow?
    This post.

    I did download it here at Videohelp. And before you ask, I installed with the full installer, not Portable.

    And I've been reading every Wiki, every guide — for both of the programs — and every similar query here on Videohelp. Like blues legend Willie Dixon first composed (and Led Zeppelin made famous): I can't quit you babe, but I have to put you down for a little while! During the install I basically left every default in place, with the exception that I have the program installed to a different directory. This looks like such a great program, I just wish I understood why it won't work.

    On a whim I dropped an MP4 'tube video into the main interface of AVStoDVD and changed very few of its options — just to see if I could get anything in the program to work — when suddenly a Command window popped up and the program began compiling (something) into a huge .M2V file, roughly the equivalent of a blank DVD. I have FAB DVD 7 and (as you can guess) FAB couldn't find anything in the directory, even when I tried its Raw/Mobile method. That shouldn't come as any surprise to anyone since what it compiled was a mangled something-or-other without AviSynth.

    In researching all possible conflicts I read something about FAVC conflicting with (something). I do have this installed. I also have a log from AVStoDVD. What do you think?
    That advice is wrong. Avisynth is a system wide tool, usable by any program that accepts .avs scripts as input. The install creates a folder in \Program Files(x86)
    and avisynth.dll goes into \Windows\SysWOW64 (64 bit OS). For a 32 bit OS the locations are \Program Files and \Windows\System32

    It's easy enough to see if it is installed properly, create a simple file in notepad and save it as test.avs on the desktop
    it should contain one line
    version()

    Drag it into Virtualdub filtermod and you should see some info about it
    Quote Quote  
  15. Jutht u wait u thilly ... hi.heaux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    That advice is wrong. Avisynth is a system wide tool, usable by any program that accepts .avs scripts as input. The install creates a folder in \Program Files(x86) and avisynth.dll goes into \Windows\SysWOW64 (64 bit OS). For a 32 bit OS the locations are \Program Files and \Windows\System32

    It's easy enough to see if it is installed properly, create a simple file in notepad and save it as test.avs on the desktop
    it should contain one line
    version()

    Drag it into Virtualdub filtermod and you should see some info about it
    Oh man did I get that wrong! Okay, I'll do it. Should I just uninstall everything and begin from scratch? I have VirtualDub (used it for years, great app) but I gather the filtermod is a different animal? Can I put it in my same VirtualDub folder?
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by hi.heaux View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    That advice is wrong. Avisynth is a system wide tool, usable by any program that accepts .avs scripts as input. The install creates a folder in \Program Files(x86) and avisynth.dll goes into \Windows\SysWOW64 (64 bit OS). For a 32 bit OS the locations are \Program Files and \Windows\System32

    It's easy enough to see if it is installed properly, create a simple file in notepad and save it as test.avs on the desktop
    it should contain one line
    version()

    Drag it into Virtualdub filtermod and you should see some info about it
    Oh man did I get that wrong! Okay, I'll do it. Should I just uninstall everything and begin from scratch? I have VirtualDub (used it for years, great app) but I gather the filtermod is a different animal? Can I put it in my same VirtualDub folder?
    Virtualdub Filtermod (AKA Virtualdub2) is a replacement with many functional updates, using many of the same file names. Best to use a separate folder.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Jutht u wait u thilly ... hi.heaux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Virtualdub Filtermod (AKA Virtualdub2) is a replacement with many functional updates, using many of the same file names. Best to use a separate folder.
    Okay, I want to be absolutely certain I get these steps explicitly correct since there are 3 different programs we're talking about. Edit as needed:
    1. I'm uninstalling VirtualDub? [YES] [NO]
    2. I'm uninstalling AviSynth? [YES] [NO]
    3. I'm safe to leave AVStoDVD in its current directory on my preferred partition? [YES] [NO]
    4. I'm safe to install the [32bit version] of VirtualDub2 to my preferred partition? [YES] [NO]
    5. I'm installing Avisynth to \Program Files\avisynth\ which is its Default folder? [YES] [NO]
    6. The Avisynth install will automatically register avisynth.dll to \Windows\System32? [YES] [NO]
    ... Or do I have to place the avisynth.dll file in \Windows\System32 manually?
    Quote Quote  
  18. Jutht u wait u thilly ... hi.heaux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    It's easy enough to see if it is installed properly, create a simple file in notepad and save it as test.avs on the desktop. it should contain one line

    version()

    Drag it into Virtualdub filtermod and you should see some info about it
    I got it to work. Dave thank you so much. AVStoDVD opens like champ, and the test is flawless in virtualdub2. Is this the preferred thread for additional AVStoDVD questions? They really should give the program its own hub (just my 2’).
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member manolito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by hi.heaux View Post
    Is this the preferred thread for additional AVStoDVD questions? They really should give the program its own hub (just my 2’).
    Yes it is...

    This thread has been here since 2007, so most A2D users have gotten used to this location. Just bookmark the URL...

    FWIW there are two other AVStoDVD forums. One is at SourceForge, but it is not very active. The other one (the oldest one) is at Doom9. Doom9 is a little more developer orientated than VideoHelp, and since most developers are now abandoning the DVD format it also has become a little quiet lately. So I guess that this is the right place for you.


    Cheers
    manolito
    Quote Quote  
  20. Jutht u wait u thilly ... hi.heaux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by manolito View Post
    Yes it is... (the preferred thread for additional AVStoDVD questions) manolito
    Hey Manolito, thanks for clarifying that.

    I have a 'tube video that I downloaded with VLC and saved as an .MP4 file (approximately 250 MB). As Dave advised, I need to convert this .MP4 file to the one file type my cheap, Non-BluRay DVD Player will recognize, ►MPEG-2 (aka MPEG2).

    This is my first attempt to reproduce a youtube video into something that I can burn onto a blank DVD playable on my DVD player. Up to now I've been backing up my movie collection to .ISO files stored on my computer's hard drive, using primarily ►DVDFAB version 7. I've submitted each .ISO to a pre-burn test using an old video utility called ►DVD SHRINK on the premise that if an old trooper like SHRINK can't open the file, there is no way I'm going to start burning coasters! If anyone has a better, bulletproof utility than SHRINK I welcome all suggestions.

    And thank you to VideoHelp for curating this thread. I had hoped I might be able to download the entire thread —all 122 pages — but there is apparently no way to do it, and I'm not going to sit here 122 times doing it manually.

    Where should I start with AVStoDVD? Thanks everyone.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    The most important thing to do is in the preferences - set whether you want PAL or NTSC output.

    The program defaults to Directshow for it's source filters, so you should have something like LAV filters installed.
    The alternative is to set FFmpegsource for video and audio on the avisynth tab which works pretty well.

    Most of the stuff in the preferences are self explanatory and can be left at the defaults.

    You should invest in a small supply of re-writable disks for your testing, then you don't have to worry about wasting disks
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by hi.heaux View Post

    Where should I start with AVStoDVD? Thanks everyone.
    You can find good beginner's guides here and here.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads