VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I wonder if anyone can help, I'm getting rather confused trying to sort this out

I have an AVI file (mpeg4 codec) that has no date/time stream. I want to display a date/time (of my choosing) when viewing the file.

is there any way to create a date/time avi stream? I don't have a DV camera to create a file to steal it's stream unfortunately.

an alternative would be to merge/overlay two AVI files (the second being a black screen with date/time displayed on it in white text-captured from my ancient anologue camera) it looks possible but the script instructions were a little cryptic-

could anyone show me an example script?

thanks

ken
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    sorry to sound daft.....i'm very new to using scripts........

could you show me an example script? I'm not sure how to decide how to fill in all of the variables (eg font, angle, colour etc) which ones are numbers, and which are words?

what do you think about the overlay idea?

cheers
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Write the following text in a Notepad window:

BlankClip(fps=25, length=1500, width=640, height=480)
    KillAudio
    ShowSMPTE(offset="00:00:15:00", x=520, y=448, font="Lucida Console", \
    size=20, text_color=$ffff00)
    , save as "BlankClipSMTP-test.avs", open this latter in VirtualDub, play it.

Change the parameters in Notepad, re-save, press F2 in VirtualDub, re-play.
    Repeat the process until you're happy with the results.

Good-luck (and much patience as well).

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

P.S.: Remember to have Avisynth installed on your computer,
    first of all!
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    thanks-I'll have a try when I get back home, just a few Q's...

where does the script generate the date and time from?

what does $ffff00 mean for "colour" and do you know the codes for other colours?