VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi.

I'm sure you guys get a lot of beginners building their HTPCs for the first time flooding you with questions... well, I'm one of them! Your responses will be much appreciated.

Ok, uh, I already have a PC and I want to convert into an HTPC:

AMD X2 Dual-core 4800+ 2.4GHz
    2GB Kingston Hyper-X DDR400
    ATI X1900 512MB + ATI X1900XTX 512MB Crossfire cards
    CL SB Audigy 2 Value
    WD 150GB Raptor X + 750GB extra space (Maxtor/Seagate) -- I know I need more for HD video capture.
    Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit

1. My most important question (since I'm fairly new to all this) is whether I can capture 720p res video (x264 encoding (mkv?)) in realtime whilst watching TV with these specs. Is it even possible to record in 720/1080 resolution in Vista Media Center?

2. As for playback I should be able to use that Media Control plugin / FDShow (not that I know how) for mkv x264 playback via Vista Media Center right?

3. I'd like to stop having to use my TV's digital freeview tuner, satellite box and add a OTA HDTV receiver at the same time. I'm not sure if I'm asking for too much from one card but is there a PCI or PCI-X card that's Vista 64 compatible that does all these things?

4. Do I really need the two 512MB ATI cards in there or will one do the job just fine? I hear rumors that only 3D applications (games etc.) take advantage of multi-GPUs... I was thinking of replacing both with one card that has an HDMI out port (not even sure how this works -- how do you get the 5.1/7.1 audio from soundcard to video card for HDMI out) but I don't know which card to get (I prefer to go with NVIDIA this time).

Any other relevant tips always welcome.

Love to add more stuff to my HTPC like a Blu-ray writer and so on once I know what I'm doing and have the money. :)

Okay, now that I've spread my newbie-ness, feel free to correct me / guide me and feel good about your expertize!

Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote