VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I recently purchased an ADVC 110 and when I record my video games in vdub, the colors look a little washed out or faded. Are the colors suppose to be not as deep as other recorders such as the dazzle 170 or ads pyro a/v link? I've had those in the past and I think the colors were more refined in those recorders. Or perhaps I dont have the correct settings on my capture device or recording software? Does anyone have any suggestions on settings or advice in general? Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Make sure setup switch is in the 7.5 IRE position. Otherwise the ADVC is correct in levels.

    PAL uses zero IRE.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    dip switches on ADVC-110
    Switch 6 - Off
    Switch 5 - On
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the tip, I had my setting on 0 IRE for some reason. I'll try to test out the capture quality later. edDV, do you have any setting recommendations for vdub?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Fatalize
    Thanks for the tip, I had my setting on 0 IRE for some reason. I'll try to test out the capture quality later. edDV, do you have any setting recommendations for vdub?
    Which DV codec are you using? Panasonic chops whites at 100IRE. Most camcorders overshoot 100IRE.

    see
    https://forum.videohelp.com/topic329440.html
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    edDV, the literature in the link you provided me is lightyears ahead of my video knowledge. Im not quite sure what kind of DV codec im using. I just capture in uncompressed .avi format that comes standard on vdub (something like 3Mbps). I'm not sure if that makes sense or answers your question. The video source is an xbox 360 via composite 480i cables. It just seems as though some of the colors on the captured file dont seem as deep or clear as what I see on my tv. Thanks in advance!
    Quote Quote  
  7. Originally Posted by Fatalize
    do you have any setting recommendations for vdub?
    What are you using VirtualDub for?

    I'd recommend WinDV or DVIO for capture from firewire devices.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Fatalize
    edDV, the literature in the link you provided me is lightyears ahead of my video knowledge. Im not quite sure what kind of DV codec im using. I just capture in uncompressed .avi format that comes standard on vdub (something like 3Mbps). I'm not sure if that makes sense or answers your question. The video source is an xbox 360 via composite 480i cables. It just seems as though some of the colors on the captured file dont seem as deep or clear as what I see on my tv. Thanks in advance!
    I agree with jagabo that WinDV should be used with your ADVC-110 to capture to a DV format file. What are you doing next? Are you editing or encoding for storage? How do you connect the XBox360 to your TV? How do you connect your conputer to the TV?

    A game system may be outputting colors outside "NTSC legal" values. This can be adjusted.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I'm using vdub as my capture program for my ADVC 110. I'll give WinDV a try. For now I'm just encoding for storage... however Windows Media Encoder degrades the quality by a lot... which I guess is normal due to compression? The xbox video/audio output has a few different components to it which all output a signal simultaneously; one component video set, one composite video, and one composite audio (red+white). My TV is not really connected to my computer in anyway. Although I can use Windows Media center to hook my xbox to my computer and play videos/music through my tv.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Wow, amazingly WinDV solved my problem with interlaced video! I've been trying so hard to find a capture program which would deinterlace automatically... but never had any luck. It was such a hassle to deinterlace a video file as a separate step. The colors still arent quite what I hope... but at least my quality seems to be improving. Thanks!

    [Edit]: actually it didnt solve me deinterlacing problem... slow motion interlace artifacts arent as prevalent as before... but fast motion artifacts still show.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Originally Posted by Fatalize
    Wow, amazingly WinDV solved my problem with interlaced video! I've been trying so hard to find a capture program which would deinterlace automatically... but never had any luck. It was such a hassle to deinterlace a video file as a separate step.
    I'm pretty sure WinDV doesn't deinterlace. I think what's happening is Windows Media Player and Window's DV decoder (quartz.dll) BOB deinterlace automatically when playing DV AVI files. Open one of your files in VirtualDub -- I'm pretty sure you'll see interlace comb artifacts.

    Originally Posted by Fatalize
    The colors still arent quite what I hope... but at least my quality seems to be improving.
    Keep in mind that computer monitors don't display video the same way a TVs do. Video usually looks dark and dingy on a computer monitor.

    It's also possible your video overlay settings are causing the problem. On most graphics cards video overlay uses separate brigtness, contrast, color, hue, and gamma settings. Go the the setup applet and adjust those controls. VirtualDub doesn't use video overlay while editing. Most media players use video overlay.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads