VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
Thread
  1. Not sure if this is the right forum, but anyway.

    So far, all the DVD recorders I've seen have RCA and S-Video Input. Will the quality of my image be degraded to RCA or S-Video when watching TV without recording even if I use the HDMI Out on the DVD Recorder to connect to my TV?

    This is so confusing
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    I very much doubt if any would have a HDMI input. That's more for direct connection to displays, similar to your VGA output to a computer monitor.

    I'm not sure what you are asking in the second question. What source are you trying to connect to the recorder and/or TV?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by redwudz
    I very much doubt if any would have a HDMI input. That's more for direct connection to displays, similar to your VGA output to a computer monitor.

    I'm not sure what you are asking in the second question. What source are you trying to connect to the recorder and/or TV?

    OK, my cable box is connected to my TV in HDMI, that's how I view my HD channels in 720p. Now in order to record a TV show on a DVD Recorder, I need to place the device between the TV and cable box, so it's:

    Cable BOX====>DVD Recorder ====>TV
    ...............S-Video........................HDMI

    Now by having that S-Video from the cable box to the DVD Recorder, won't I loose the image quality when watching TV even if the DVD Recorder is connected in HDMI to the TV?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Yes. You need to hook the cable box up direct to the TV via HDMI or component. If you do it like your illustration then you can only get 480i to the TV ... not 720p or 1080i etc.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  5. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    Any time you convert from analog <>digital you will have losses. But box makers and the video companies don't really want you to make one-to-one copies of any of their video. And, depending on their copyright agreements, it's likely not legal anyway. They are not going to make this easy.

    I would continue to view with the HDMI inputs from the cable box.
    Quote Quote  
  6. If I need to change my setup every time I want to record something, DVD Recorders aren't as useful as VHS were back in the days we didn't have Digital TVs. Guess I'll download episodes someone else recorded instead instead of recording them myself then.


    Thanks anyway
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    There is no DVD recorder that takes anything but 480i over composite, S-Video or DV 480i. This may change with HD/BD format recorders but they won't allow recording from HD set top boxes, only HD camcorders.

    HDV camcorders may have analog inputs but only for SD to DV format.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by the_importer
    ...
    OK, my cable box is connected to my TV in HDMI, that's how I view my HD channels in 720p. Now in order to record a TV show on a DVD Recorder, I need to place the device between the TV and cable box, so it's:

    Cable BOX====>DVD Recorder ====>TV
    ...............S-Video........................HDMI

    Now by having that S-Video from the cable box to the DVD Recorder, won't I loose the image quality when watching TV even if the DVD Recorder is connected in HDMI to the TV?
    Yes, it will be standard def.

    Hook it up this way.
    Cable BOX=(HDMI)=======================>TV
    Cable BOX=(S-Video)==>DVD Recorder ==(HDMI*)==>TV

    *Or S-Video or Analog Component
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by edDV
    Hook it up this way.

    Cable BOX=(HDMI)=======================>TV
    Cable BOX=(S-Video)==>DVD Recorder ==(HDMI*)==>TV

    *Or S-Video or Analog Component
    That's exactly what I was trying to say.

    If you find like me that your Cable Box only has a single set of audio outputs then you will either have to use a distribution amp so you can split it into two (one to the TV and one to the DVD recorder) or you can get away without that as I do: Hook the audio out of the Cable Box to the DVD Recorder then the DVD Recorder to your sound source (i.e., stereo). You can record now and when watching the TV just use the DVD Recorder as pass-thru for the audio ... only bad thing is it means your DVD Recorder will be on to pass-thru the audio which means it will be on more often than need be.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  10. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Freedonia
    Search Comp PM
    DVD recorders exist to make it simple for you to copy personal VHS tapes to DVD and to record standard definition TV shows to DVD. That is essentially it. There is NO WAY AT ALL with any DVD recorder to record HD video in HD. None. Note that I am not taking about BluRay recorders. I am talking specifically about DVD recorders. Not the same thing.

    If you want to record HD video directly, it is possible to do so via firewire from the cable box to a PC. Encrypted pay channels such as HBO will NOT work with this method. However, if you want to record local HD channels, Discovery and so on, this method will work:
    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=403695
    Editing the video and burning it to DVD is up to you though and you should note that almost nothing right now will be capable of playing back these videos. Eventually the players will catch up, but that day is not today.
    Quote Quote  
  11. I think the only way to do it is to transfer the recording to your PC and burn to a Blu-ray disc that way.

    Edit: Sorry didn't realise this thread was 6 years old.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads