VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello,
    I am VERY new to digital video and am having some trouble and would greatly appreciate your advice. I have always used MYDVD version 4.5.2 (Windows 2000 Pro) to capture and burn my digital videos and had no problems. I would capture direct from my camera then burn to DVD using MYDVD. I have upgraded my PC and am still using Windows 2000 Pro. Just got finished capturing 4 digial tapes and all went well. When I started to burn to DVD I got the message "Could not complete the last command becuse: OS err (OSErr, 331778). Since I am using the same OS as before I don't understand why there should be a problem. Any suggestions?

Would it help if I were to upgrade to Windows XP. I am not comfortable with Vista just yet.
    If so, I feel I will need new software to capture and burn since I feel MyDVD version is probably too old to run on XP. What would you recommend? I am looking for something SIMPLE. This is something I do once a year and don't want to get overly involved in the technical aspects of this hobby.

Thanks in advance for your advice.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    What service pack is installed ... better be sp4
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    BJ's
    I am using Service Pack 4. What do you think my problem is?

Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Yes , its a pick , wish they made these errors more sensible .

Two area's :

One relates to program unable to gain exclusive use of the burner ... the other blame's media that is used .

Start with shutting down all unnecessary running task's , and those in background (Ctrl + Alt + Del) ... just kill off things such as quicktime , anything using "read" in its name , incd is a bad one from nero , ipodservices , opware (scanner crapware) , wrtproc + wrtmon , ctfmon (a headache for shutdown) , ect , before trying again .

Questions :