VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    The subject might seem silly to you DVD veterans, perhaps you could offer suggestions or point to the right HOWTO guide. I've read baldrick's "How to convert DVDs back to MPG files for reauthor or reedit", but I'm just not connecting the dots.

My background is familiarity with basic video/audio editing using tools like virtualDub, Super, audacity, etc. But I am a novice when it comes to DVD editing.

Here's what I'm trying to do. I'm trying to clean up the audio on an instructional DVD. The solution is theoretically simple: since the audio consists of one person speaking it's perfectly ok for it to be mono, i.e. the same audio on both channels. So all I need to do is duplicate the one good audio channel.

My first stab at it using tools I'm familiar with was a partial success:
    1. demux the vobs using Super
    2. modify the wav audio using audacity
    3. mux the video and corrected audio back into vobs using virtualDub and Super

This does in fact result in vobs that play perfectly by themselves, but the showstopper problem is that all the menus are now broken so access to individual chapters no longer works. I don't really understand how DVD titles/chapters are actually implemented as I have not found a good explanation anywhere. My guess is that VOBs cannot be simply edited (as I've done) without taking into account physical offsets that chapter navigation seems to depend upon. It seems if such a low level manual edit is done then the corresponding menu to chapter linkage needs to be updated as well.

It would be agonizingly tedious and error prone to have to do this for all the chapters of a DVD on any edit so I'm guessing the better tools handle this. Ideally a tool would demux the vobs, cache the demuxed streams for edit, and be capable of muxing streams back into vobs without breaking the menu to chapter navigation that was present.