VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I've been fooling around with this for days now. I'm a newbie getting up to speed, reading a lot and experimenting.

I have an HDTV source, 1280x720p, 50 fps, demuxed into ac3 and mpv/d2v, and I want to convert it to SDTV, PAL 720x576, 25 fps, for DVD. I'm using AviSynth 2.5 to achieve (frameserve) this.

So far I have come up with two approaches:

1. Just drop every other frame, ie. use SelectEven() or SelectOdd().
    Result is 25 fps progressive.

Pro: Simple
    Con: Degradation of smoothness

2. Split up frames in fields and combine them to produce interlaced 25 fps:
    Assumetff().SeparateFields().SelectEvery(4, 0, 3).Weave()

Pro: Retains smoothness
    Con: I see artifacts on both tv and monitor (jagged edges, lines)

Both approaches also contain:
    LanczosResize(720,576) # Done before interlacing
    BT709ToBT601()

Personally, I prefer the second approach, retaining the smoothness. But there is a mismatch between my (apparently incomplete) mental model of what is happening, because I can see interlacing effects on both my tv and monitor (jagged edges, lines during movment). They go away if I for instance do a FieldDeinterlace() after the weaving, but no point in deinterlacing when I just interlaced in the previous instruction, is there??

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Joost
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Many HDTV broadcasts in the US simply double the frame rate so that you have two duplicate frames, making reduction to a lower framerate simple (just decimate every other frame). Make sure you view your source frame by frame to verify if that applies to your source as well.

Just ensure the D2V you produced is set to honor the pulldown flags, rather than ingore them so that you can get an accurate ID of what your source is composed of.
    Impossible to see the future is. The Dark Side clouds everything...
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM