VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I just bought an LG brand external DVD burner. It's model # GSA-E40L. I've tried ripping copy-protected DVDs with it to no avail. I tried using DVD Decrypter, 1ClickDVDCopy Pro, and DVDFab Platinum version 3.1.3.6 and nothing worked.

I referenced some of the user guides on the site, but still no love.

Is there copy-protection built into this unit or not? Sorry, I'm a novice to this whole world, and I still have lots of questions about how things work. Please take pity on a newb. Thanks in advance for any help offered.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    rip to your hard drive first using DVDFAB then use DVDSHRINK. DVD DECRYPTER is no longer updated therefore it's of no use for the newer encryption protection schemes.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Well he said he tried DVDFab Platinum version 3.1.3.6...

But if you look... V3.1.3.6. Is quite a few versions old....
    They are up to v3.1.4.0 on platinum.

And you can try the free version of DVDFab HD Decrypter v3.1.4.5,
    But that's just a ripper and does not have all the extra functions Platinum has.

You have to keep up with the latest updates for newer protections coming out all the time.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Welcome waldothewonderboy

In answering to the first part , "copy-protection built into this unit" ... thats a no .

Only issues that appear are from discs with different region code .

----

External ... are you using xp with sp2 .

----

The answer to next part is to keep up to date with the ripping tools , dvdfab hd decrypter is you best option when it comes to ripping protected content from dvd to hard drive ... most other tools are behind , or nolonger updated due to specific reasons .