VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Thread
  1. Member evol ecallaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Can someone please teach me how to backup a HHD using Acronis True Image? I've been lookin for a guides on "how to" but can't find it, preferebly with pictures would be nice. I'm more of a visual learner but if it's impossible then just text would be ok.

    I have a laptop and would like to back it up in case it messes up in the future but i read that you need an external hhd in order to back up? Really, it's so confusing. please help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    You can DL this guide from Acronis. It's in PDF format, about 3 MB. http://us1.download.acronis.com/pdf/TrueImage10.0_ug.en.pdf

    If you need a PDF reader, I would recommend Foxit. It takes up much less space than the Adobe reader: http://www.foxitsoftware.com/pdf/rd_intro.php

    You can back up to about any media. A data DVD would be a good choice as it holds quite a bit. Or an external hard drive would also work. Even CDs.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    If you have access to a desktop than get on eBay a laptop to desktop hard drive adapter for an average of $5.00 shipped and you will be able to clone the drive very easy.
    moved to another forum, nobody likes me here...
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member fatbloke88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    open up acronis, at the top select BACKUP (sort of in the top middle you have to run your cursor over it)the "create backup wizard" will open.Hit NEXT and the default is MY COMPUTER(this will let you back up the entire disk.)(if you want to back up files select DATA)and hit NEXT
    In the next window select the drive you want to backup by placing a tick in the box next to the drive letter(default is c)and hit NEXT.
    The next window asks you where you want to save the data to so select the drive and name your backup
    Hit NEXT if its your first backup use the default of FULL BACKUP ARCHIVE,if not then Incremental.
    Hit NEXT for default settings then a page for comments will appear,put in what you want and hit NEXT ,now check to make sure the right drives are selected in the screen that appears and if all is well hit PROCEED and leave it to do its job.
    When finished reopen the program and below where it says help at the top of the screen there is an icon of a hard drive with a red tick,select this to check the archive(well worth the time)hit NEXT and now navigate to where you put the archive and select it, hit NEXT then PROCEED.
    Hope this helps
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member evol ecallaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Is Backup and Image the same? Because what I meant to ask was how to make an image of my hard drive?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    With most backup programs you can do either one. Generally if you 'image' a drive you mean the whole drive, an exact copy. You can also just selectively back up the programs and OS or just selected parts of the disk and not the rest of the stored data to save space. After all, you should already be backing up your data externally.

    Chapter three of that PDF file I referenced explains all that better.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads