VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
Thread
  1. Please be gentle with me. I'm fine on Windoz stuff but a total newbie on Linux but with a thirst to learn.

    I have installed Ubuntu Feisty Fawn on my PC (an Asus Pundit PE3) and so far everything seems to work, with one exception. With every TV software I load I can only get the card to work on analogue TV and not on Digital. In addition I get no audio whether I choose TV input or composite input (which I use to capture off my Sky satellite box).

    Can some kind person give me any guidance on how I can corrrect this problem? Even if I say pretty please?
    Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Are you sure you have the SAA7134-dvb and SAA7134-alsa modules loaded?

    you can check this by typing :
    sudo lsmod
    at a command prompt
    this will list all active modules if the dvb and alsa modules aren't listed type:

    modprobe SAA7134-DVB
    modprobe SAA7134-alsa
    Quote Quote  
  3. dvb and alsa modules aren't listed type:

    modprobe SAA7134-DVB
    modprobe SAA7134-alsa
    When I did that I got:

    FATAL: Module SAA7134_DVB not found.

    I know the card works perfectly in WindozXP as at present that is my only capture option. I want to drop the Microsoft OS, not because it's so unstable (which it is) but because I object to their trying to tell me what I can and can't do. I have a new PC that I have assembled and I do not want to load Vista on it if I can avoid it.

    Unfortunately it being an Asus Pundit it will only accept half height cards and the Asus capture cards are the only ones I can get in Europe. Being very much a novice when it comes to Linux I'm not sure if USB units will work with Ubuntu and whether there are drivers available. I really don't need the TV capture since within the next few months I shall be emigrating (I'm coming up to retirement age) and I shall be using satellite receivers to get English television. All I really need is composite/s-video operation complete with sound and all I'm getting at the moment id video and no sound.

    Thank you for your help thus far and I look forward to further assistance should you be kind enough to provide it.
    Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member GMaq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Duchess,
    I wish I could help you, unfortunately I'm fairly new to Linux as well. I can tell you that capture card support in Linux is far more limited than Windows to a few specific chipsets, this is a definite area for future growth. I just had to say that your "signature" made me laugh, A real capsule of wisdom there! We've got some really great people here in the Linux forum, hopefully someone with a larger cranium than myself can assist you. Thanks for the laugh!
    Quote Quote  
  5. Hi GMaq,

    Thanks for trying, it may have worked but unfortunately not but you did try which is more kudos to you. As for the 'sig' I must admit that I borrowed it from someone on another forum since I too found it amusing.

    Again thanks for trying it really was appreciated.
    Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    if you go here http://www.linuxtv.org/v4lwiki/index.php/Main_Page

    you can download a patch for your kernel there may also be one in the ubuntu repositories that isn't installed.
    you need saa7134
    saa7134-alsa and saa7134-dvb

    alternatively you might find someone on the ubuntu forums has already created one.

    you'll also need to install the tda1046.fw firmware in /lib/firmware/
    avaialable through links here: http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Firmware

    This card and most others do work under linux they're just a bit of a pain to configure but once you know what you're doing you'll be OK. I now have a media centre running mythtv with one of these cards.

    When I've finished I'm toying with the idea of making my own mythtv media distro using this card if I get round to it I'll let you know.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    this is another good resource:

    http://gentoo-wiki.com/HARDWARE_saa7134

    ( i know it's gentoo but almost all of it still applies)
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    just noticed it's "saa7134-dvb" not saa7134_dvb
    Quote Quote  
  9. If that works I'll be your friend for life !!!

    I'll give it a try this evening and let you know how I get on. As for the special distro I'll be more than interested, especially if it also includes a 64bit version as the machine I'm building has a core2duo prcessor.

    So far I'm finding Linux to be an extremely good OS and now seriously thinking of ditching MS software on any new machines. After all why should I give Bill Gates money when I don't need to!

    I'll get back to you as soon as I've had a chance to try what you have suggested.

    Many thanks.
    Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    if it works you'll want to add your module names (saa7134, saa7134-a;sa, saa7134-dvb) in:
    /etc/modules
    and they will be started at boot
    modprobe will only start them for your current session
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    sorry bit of a typo there second module should be saa7134-alsa
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads