VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    In the old days I used to just copy programs to a directory and run the exe, much like virtualdub mod, there is no setup and install and playing with registrys and reboots.

Why do programs need to do this when some programs (take virtualdub for example) can run perfectly fine straight out of a folder with no install or anything?
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    I'm not an expert but I believe this goes back to when computers were first becoming popular and disk space was at a premium, enter the DLL . Instead of having multiple copies of the same file programs instead will share the same file. The installation will make sure this file is present and if not add it. Installation also provides other things such as if certain files have to be configured to your particular computer, association of files, start menu additions etc.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    my guess is that if they are dependent on the OS's files, they need to be installed.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by thecoalman
    I'm not an expert but I believe this goes back to when computers were first becoming popular and disk space was at a premium, enter the DLL . Instead of having multiple copies of the same file programs instead will share the same file. The installation will make sure this file is present and if not add it. Installation also provides other things such as if certain files have to be configured to your particular computer, association of files, start menu additions etc.
    Pretty much this, but hey most simple Apps on the mac are installed by dragging a single icon into the applications folder
    Quote Quote  
  5. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Not really, and NOT AT ALL actually, IMHO.
    If it were true, you'd have same thing happening on other than windows operating systems, of which many are older than NT-line.