VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
Thread
  1. Member RE*S.T.A.R.S.*2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Oh well i come form nightmare with hupaugge 500MCE and decide to go with ATI as i know they make good product, at firts i was dissapointed for the lack of its precious software for capturing.
    And i was like throwing the card out of the windows.... but i decided to try ChrisTV PVR and oh My god, i was impressed by the software is working fine and i was using the latest drivers wich is 6.14.10.244 (4/25/2007) and was using onboard audigy 2 zs audio card and virtualdub....
    Unfortunatly the Vdub dint want to use the the audio from the ATI and had to use onboard,but anyway i was capturing AVI files wich i dont want even knowing its the way to go..
    I used to use the winfast 2000xp and that is software capturing and its not good for capturing direct MPEG 2 not that you cant but if you dont have a good processor you are in nothing....
    So now i am so happy i am using ChrisTV 5.1 and i am just say amazing at last i found a capture software that really works with this card now i will put a pic online as how the picture looks and how is my ATI 550 pro doing with the qualitie... remember i am not a PRO i want my capture to work not to sit inside the pc getting hot and doing nothing.....

    BTW i have put a heatsink on the ATI chipset and it memory ram, just cool down a litle since its gets hot, also the picture its from antena and without a good resection ....

    Let me know what you thing and if i can improve thanks people.

    720X480 6000 kbps VRB

    Quote Quote  
  2. Member RE*S.T.A.R.S.*2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    oops its too ugly thats why i dont get reply?

    OMG
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Peterborough, England
    Search Comp PM
    It's noisy, you've got insufficient signal. I'll give you one thing though, it's nothing like as bad as most NTSC TV pictures I've seen.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Going Mad TheFamilyMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    south SF bay area, CA USA
    Search Comp PM
    Try different 550 comb and noise filter settings. ChrisTV lets you adjust them, or you can use the ATI 550 control panel. Better use of written english might also be helpful when asking for advise.
    Usually long gone and forgotten
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member RE*S.T.A.R.S.*2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    like said it wasnt a good resection , and i try to get my ati 550 pro working , before i couldnt use hardware mpeg capture and now i do...

    thats why i am happy, if i have a cable box it would be better thats for sure... i will post a dvd pic using the Svideo input so you guys can tell if is really bad or not.... thanks

    here its the new pic

    Quote Quote  
  6. Member RE*S.T.A.R.S.*2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by TheFamilyMan
    Try different 550 comb and noise filter settings. ChrisTV lets you adjust them, or you can use the ATI 550 control panel. Better use of written english might also be helpful when asking for advise.

    Thanks for your help, you are talking about the setting under teather 550 pro filters settings.
    Well i dont know much about them and how to use then, i have as default under noise reduction setting.
    there is options : Method:
    Thershold and value... and its at default so i tried to change them but i dint see a difference in my taste...
    What do you recomend?
    thanks for valuable help
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member lacywest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    California
    Search Comp PM
    interesting info ... and the second picture is more interesting but your first photo was fine too ... choice of screen capture is not important.

    It's how clear the reception is ... I will be setting up my system ... again ... to do video capture ... I have a few ATI Sapphire X800GTO2 cards with video in ... built in.

    Plus I obtained a ATI X800XT AIW card
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member lacywest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    California
    Search Comp PM
    interesting info ... and the second picture is more interesting but your first photo was fine too ... choice of screen capture is not important.

    It's how clear the reception is ... that I feel is important.

    I will be setting up my system ... again ... to do video capture ... I have a few ATI Sapphire X800GTO2 cards PCI-E with video in ... built in.

    Plus I obtained a ATI X800XT AIW AGP card
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member lacywest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    California
    Search Comp PM
    interesting info ... and the second picture is more interesting but your first photo was fine too ... choice of screen capture is not important.

    It's how clear the reception is ... that I feel is important.

    I will be setting up my system ... again ... to do video capture ... I have a few ATI Sapphire X800GTO2 cards PCI-E with video in ... built in.

    Plus I obtained a ATI X800XT AIW AGP card
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member lacywest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    California
    Search Comp PM
    Crap ... delete some of my posts ... only need one to be posted.

    I was getting a message saying ... this post didn't exist ... so I posted again ... and I posted a third time ... Sorry


    Message is saying .... The topic or post you requested does not exist
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by RE*S.T.A.R.S.*2
    like said it wasnt a good resection , and i try to get my ati 550 pro working , before i couldnt use hardware mpeg capture and now i do...

    thats why i am happy, if i have a cable box it would be better thats for sure... i will post a dvd pic using the Svideo input so you guys can tell if is really bad or not.... thanks

    here its the new pic
    I think your captures look very respectable.

    Now on to the real question, who is the chick and what was the dvd? 8)

    -Smells_Like_Feet
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member RE*S.T.A.R.S.*2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Well i was trying to get reply from Mr ThefamilyMan,
    Anyone wants to share with me its ATI 550 pro driver version,
    Wich do you thinks is better for ChrisTV?

    thanks people
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member RE*S.T.A.R.S.*2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Oh man you dint see the other girl..
    thats a dvd from Wisin & Yandel Pa el Mundo...
    anyone else can tell me how to use the ATI 550 Pro comb and Noise reduction.... or that features works with noise video only?

    alrigth thanks be around waiting for Replies
    Quote Quote  
  14. Going Mad TheFamilyMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    south SF bay area, CA USA
    Search Comp PM
    I've never seen any documentation on using the 550 filters, which really pisses me off: what's the use of providing a feature if the users have to guess about its use? I have no advice for setting them (my guess: larger values -> more effect), I've simply fiddled with them and gotten what seems to be better results (placebo effect?). I've read some posts that propose that the settings really do nothing. Your guess on how to use them are as good as mine...sorry...
    Usually long gone and forgotten
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads