VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Apologies if this is the wrong forum

    I recently dug out my old MiniDV camera and found some home movies with it that I want to transfer to my computer. I've connected the camera via firewire but my computer isn't finding it. I've recently upgraded to Vista64 which I'm guessing is probably the cause of the problem (as it's caused me so many other problems). Can anyone help?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Best Coast, Canada
    Search Comp PM
    You need a driver for your cam, check with cam manufacturer.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    It is a Thomson VMD5 and I can't find any drivers for it. Are there any generic ones available anywhere that I could use?
    Quote Quote  
  4. When you say Vista won't recognize it, how are you determining that? With XP (32-bit), the tried-and-tested way is to look for a new folder in Explorer/My Computer.

    Vista doesn't do that (nor XP 64-bit), so there aren't any obvious clues that the camcorder has been successfully recognize or not.

    With Vista, you have to open an application that can capture? I assume you have tried Windows Movie Maker but with no luck.

    When you connect the camcorder via FireWire and turn it on, does Vista make the "ba-dip" sound?
    John Miller
    enosoft - high performance tools for music and video

    Home of the Enosoft DV Processor - Free for personal use!
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I've tried Windows Movie Maker and WinDV and had no joy with either. No sound is made when I connect the camcorder and turn it on.
    If I can't figure it out by tomorrow I think I'll just temporarily re-install XP and try that.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Create a dual boot OS, its easier.

    Otherwise you need vista compatible drivers.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Well I've just reloaded the backup image of my old xp installation but the same thing is happening: I connect the camera... and nothing.
    I've tested the cable on another device so I know that works okay. I'm just completely baffled.
    Quote Quote  
  8. did you try winDV ?

    you don't need a driver since the cam is connect using firewire

    Comments

    "ust captured 1:26 minutes from a D8 video cam (DCR-TRV140). Running Vista Ultimate x64 in Spanis. CPU Pentium D 920, Mobo with Via PT880Pro chipset. The firewire card is an Adapated (TI chipset)."
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    yeah i tried winDV
    I suppose the title of this thread is a bit inaccurate now that I know it's not vista causing the problem.

    I'm using the firewire port on my audigy4 pro... could this be a likely cause of the problem? I know the port itself works as I had my Canopus ADVC-300 connected to it (or I did have until it was rendered all but useless thanks to vista!).
    I've only ever connected the camera to my computer once before and that was when I first bought it around 6 years ago, and that was to a dedicated firewire card that I no longer have. I don't remember having any problems back then.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Search Comp PM
    I have a Cretive Audigy sound card in my PC with a firewire port. After moving to vista this port did recognized my DV devices, but I had several problems with when capturing. Now I'm using a TI based Adaptec firewire PCI card and may capturing problems are over.

    Vista should recognize your DV cam. Have you tried another cable?
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by ereiamjh

    I'm using the firewire port on my audigy4 pro...
    That is most likely the cause of your problem. The port driver that works with Vista would have to come from Creative/Audigy. Better to get a OHCI Vista compatible IEEE-1394 card.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Search Comp PM
    Actually the firewire chipset in creative cards is just a normal Agere (before Lucent and now LSI ). The chip is not bad per se, but because of how it wired it may give problems, In my Via based mobo it refused to work.
    Quote Quote  
  13. I read lot of bad reviews about creative and their bad drivers software
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member thecoalman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Search PM
    As far as the firewire port on the audigy it's hit and miss from my own experience and what I've read. In my case it would randomly disconnect the cam Connecting to the onboard firewire port on the mobo works perfectly, this is a XP machine but I'm sure problems like that could carry over.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Search Comp PM
    Yeap, this is the problem I have ith the firewire port in my Audigy.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads