VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 45
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Hi all, first post of mine. I've been given the task of getting my sisters camcorder footage and turning it into a dvd. She has just bought a new computer and I seem to be having trouble completing this. I've captured the footage using Windows Movie Maker, it is 1 and a half hours long, and 19GB in size. I've tried various programmes, but something always seems to mess up...

    1) On Convertx to DVD, the first time I tried converting the file, it froze halfway through, so I reset the computer and started again. This time it converted all the way through and burned the disc. However, when I played it on her DVD player, the sound was completely messed up, it was very slow and sounded like something out of a horror film. So I binned the disc. I tried playing the files dvd files on the computer and it was the same, so I know there was nothing wrong with the disc or the burn.

    2) Second programme. I used TmPGenc, version 4 I think, it started to convert, then just shutdown the programme after about two minutes, so by this time I was fed up and uninstalled this and Convertx off her computer.

    3) Third programme. Now I've tried it on Nero 7. Again it froze on first convert, so I reset it and started again. Second time it seemd to be going well, but I checked on it later and the screen had gone blank with an error message of 'Out of scan range'. Reset again.

    4) Fourth programme. Again back to TMPGenc, this time an older version on trial, which was simpler to use. It started to convert, got quite far, but again the 'Out of scan range' monitor message came up again, so I reset. It had managed to convert half the footage, so I looked for it to test if the amount it had managed to convert had encoded properly, but the sound problems mentioned with COnvertxtoDVD above were apparent again, so now I knew the problem wasn't just software.

    Right now I am exasperated. It is a new computer and I was expecting this to be quite straightforward. I have never encoded camcorder footage before, but have successfully encoded and burned television episodes I downloaded.

    I have looked up the monitor drivers and installed them, hoping that will solve the 'Out of scan range' messages, although I haven't tried a convert since so have no way of telling whether it will or not.

    So, the help I need are on three things...

    1) Does anyone know of a reliable, simple software that will encode this footage and allow me to burn it with a menu.

    2) Can anyone help me with the error messages should they arise again?

    3) Most importantly, can anyone suggest why the sound on the converted files seem to be so messed up? Why is it slow-motion sounding? What am I doing wrong?

    The actual captured footage plays fine, BTW.

    Thank you for any help, I welcome any questions...
    Quote Quote  
  2. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    If I was to take a wild guess on the audio, I would say that the original audio is 12bit, 32mHz audio, instead of 16bit, 44.1mHz, and the software is struggling to up-sample it for DVD.

    How much memory and HDD space does this new computer have ?
    Is it running XP or Vista ?
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    It has 2GB of RAM. And it has 320GB harddrive space. The processor is a Dual Core 6400. It is running XP.
    EDIT: The most annoying thing is the only reason they bought this computer is for this very task.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member stars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In the Lighthouse
    Search Comp PM
    Hi....
    If you want a simple (user frendly) software Iam afriad it will cost you some money,but there are
    other ways that are a little more complex and more powerfull than commersial programs...

    1- OK you have captured a minDV into a DV file using a .avi container...
    2- Open the video clip with Virtualdub, edit the parts you want
    3- Check the audio format if its not 48kHz 2ch 16bit, convertit and save it as a wave file.
    4- Shout down the audio. from now on we only use the video.
    5- Start Virutaldubs frameserver (this requiers Avisynth) and save the file with .avi extension
    6- Create a AVS script that links the saved .avi file to HC encoder.
    7- Encode the video into mpeg2 format the output is .m2v
    8- Convert the audio file to DD2.0 .ac3 using Quenc.
    9- Author your DVD with Gui for dvdauthor.
    10- Create an image (.ISO) file with Imgburn
    11- and finaly burn the DVD image with Imgburn

    It look VERY complex but when you get the hang of it its not so hard, you have full control all the way.

    A more simpel way are DVDit, DVDlab pro,Adobe Premier and maybe DVDflick (freeware)

    How to use all the programs i have told you about ???? search the forum and other guides and the
    light will come to you in your darkness...

    stars...
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks stars, I will try this and report back.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Just another quick question, when you load a file into virtualdub, and play it, does the sound come out as 'shutters', because there is no sound from the original movie just a series of continuous shutters.

    Also, I don't know the relevance of this, but the original captured movie isn't registered as an .avi, but just a 'video file'.

    EDIT: The audio conversion bit in virtualdub is grey and inaccessible...
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member stars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In the Lighthouse
    Search Comp PM
    Hi....

    if everything is Ok the video file will play just fine...

    I think there can be an issue withe the DV code...

    so install this one and try agin Panasonic DV Codec

    I beleve that you have win XP and Windows mediaplayer 11...

    This FU** program sets every videofile to type video file. but the one you have should be
    a DV file inside a .avi container....

    Im quite busy with the kids right now. I will answer more questions tonight..

    regards stars...


    I have a smal guide about the loading the video into virutaldub, framserving and so on...

    The only thing is that its in swedish...I can make some translation if you want to....

    her is a direct link to that page on my site

    http://www.the-lighthouse.se/swe/video-musik/dvd/mpeg4-mpg2/mpeg4-mpg2.html


    stars...
    Quote Quote  
  8. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    VirtualDub is mostly a video editor, so it's not great for playback, either video or audio. But that shouldn't be a problem. Use a regular player for that.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Virtualdub can frameserve directly to bbmpeg .

    Avisynth (scripts of avs) do not necessarily require virtualdub .

    ----

    Grab :

    https://www.videohelp.com/tools/Panasonic_DV_Codec (for vdubs needs)

    https://www.videohelp.com/tools/Canopus_DV_File_Converter (dv1 to dv2)

    Handy when vdub complains about audio , just convert from dv1 to dv2 .

    1: Load avi in vdub
    2: Go to audio , set to full processing .
    3: Go to audio tab , choose compression , set to none
    4: Go to audio , conversion , set to 48khz , 16bit , stereo

    Save as wav .

    5: Download and install besweet , convert new wav to ac3 (above 64kbps) .
    6: Close besweet , and delete wav when done .

    You have a choice of video conversion process's .

    Either frame serve directly from vdub to bbmpeg

    https://forum.videohelp.com/topic270071.html

    or install avisynth , write a simple avs text file , load this text file into quenc or henc .

    Theres plenty of these tips in the forum .

    Open notepad .
    Enter the following text
    AVIsource("yourmoviesnamehere.avi")
    Save .

    You must change "save as type" to read as "all files"
    And prefer the name of the file to be the same as you movies name , as in

    yourmoviesnamehere.avs

    Its ready to be loaded via quenc or henc .

    Note :

    It would be better to add the dirs where the file resides , so if your file is in

    C:\temp ... then script would read

    AVIsource("C:\temp\yourmoviesnamehere.avi")

    Once ready , set the required parameters in quenc or henc , encode mpeg2

    I would also mention : https://forum.videohelp.com/topic322606.html
    Come down to part 7 , and it shows dv2 video being served in the same manner , but its format is restricted in the avs script .

    ----

    You now have an ac3 audio , and a m2v video .

    Use dvdauthorgui to generate the dvd to hard drive (not as iso)
    Run it through dvdshrink incase it exceeds 4.3gig , and trim it down if needed .
    Burn the result to media using imgburn .

    Your done .

    ====

    Your issues with all those other tools causing issues could be directshow issues , consider updating your motherboards drivers , then followed up by your video chipsets drivers , should resolve most issues upon reboot , its pretty common .

    The one thing people should throw out the window , on receipt of a new pc , is those video driver cds , there always out of date .
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    VirtualDub is mostly a video editor, so it's not great for playback, either video or audio. But that shouldn't be a problem. Use a regular player for that.
    But that's the thing, I converted the audio using virtualdub to 48khz (or at least I think I have) and played the finished file using SHowtime, and the same sound that occurred in virtualdub occurs, the constant 'shuttering', with no actual in-footage sound.

    Thanks everyone for the replies thus far, I'll look through them and try some of the suggestions and report back....
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member ricoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    CT, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Try Super, it's free and works well.
    I love children, girl children... about 16-40
    W.C. Fields
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Ok , you have all you need , but you must convert to dv2 before anything .

    That twit , windows movie maker outputs dv1 which causes all sorts of audio conversion issues . Use that dv convert tool I listed to convert that dv1 to dv2 and you problems with audio will dissappear like magic .

    It took a while to remember what the cause was , its been years since I last done that .
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Right, I've tried all the virtualdub routes that BJS and stars have suggested, but either they don't work or I am doing something wrong. I've installed the dv codec. I load the file into virtualdub, play it to check and the sound of a car engine comes out, although the visual is fine. I convert it to 48khz, and save as wav, play the resulting file in two seperate softwares apps. and the car engine noise is still there.

    I'm using that canopus app. that BJS has suggested, I'm not sure if I've done it right, I just loaded the file and pushed process, hopefully that will work.

    I must mention I am far from an expert and alot of the jargon is new to me.

    Is it possible to take the canopus converted file, load that into something like convertxtodvd and encode that way? As then, in theory, the sound will have been upsampled and the program only needs to encode the video? I ask this because the whole vdub/besweet etc route just doesn't seem to be working for me, I need something more simplistic, and convertx is still the only programme to have successfully seen through an entire encode (albeit with the slow-motion sound.)

    Oh great, just as I type, canopus has inexplicably paused and stopped converting, great, just great.

    OK, here is my suggestion, feel free to mock. I am going to upsample the audio (hopefully with your suggestions as to how, and if there is anything else I need to do to it [change it to ac3 or wav for example, or whatever]) and then take the finished avi with the new sound and try to encode that instead of the original, using a simple program. Sound right/ wrong?

    I just tried SUPER (build 22), and it looks very easy to use, I did all the settings, and then looked around only to find there is no encode option.....I feel ready to throw the computer outside now.

    Once again, thanks for all the help, it is greatly appreciated because I'd be clueless without it, so thanks again, and sorry if I'm being a pain.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member stars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In the Lighthouse
    Search Comp PM
    Hi...

    Strange the audio thing...

    1. Do you capture the video via firewire or via a capturing card... ??

    2. What type of audio file do you have in your movie go to the file menu in Virtualdub
    and choose File Information....??

    If you are using firewire i suggest you use windv or dvio .
    Both program can capture in AVI1 mode or AVI2 mode. Windows Movie Maker uses AVI1 mode...
    I personally uses avi1 mode because I have sync problems with avi2 mode. I dont realy know why.

    3. How did you capture your movie using window movie maker ??
    you must use " Format for a digital unit DV-AVI"


    As you probely have noticed there are many different ways and filophis about how to do this
    conversion to DVD. But we must take one thing at a time.. so lets solve the audio problem

    regarding the upsampel of the audio there is a "small" problem....
    The only freeware that does it right is virtualdub the other programs give you very big sync problems
    I have even tried Besweet with no luck. The commersial program I use i Cool edit pro....
    And no audacity dont do it right either...

    regards stars...
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I've unistalled virtualdub now, but what I remember about the sound was that it was 12bit, 32khz. I use a firewire card. When I used WMM, I chose 'Digital device format (DV-AVI).

    I might just start again, and use windv to re-capture everything, because the whole thing is really starting to 'p' me off.
    Quote Quote  
  16. djfonti: Have you considered getting a capture card, such as Hauppauge Card, and recording the footage from the camera directly to Mpeg2? This would save you alot of space, instead of 19 GB it would be between 4GB to 4.5 GB, if you have the settings for a DVD Compatible file. You can set your video at 720x480, 8000kbs (vbr) and your audio at 256kbs at 48khz. There are Mpeg2 Video Editors such as Womble Mpeg Video Editor that you can use for editing or you could get Tmpgenc DVD Author 3.0 and even edit your video within that program. The Hauppauge Card has inputs for S-Video or composite, as well as accepting the audio left and right through a composite cable. Personally I am very pleased with the the quality of the video and audio that Hauppauge gives me.

    An added benifit to having a capture card is that your sister could use her computer as a personal video recorder, if she wished to. Just thought I would mention this as an additional option.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I'll mention it to her, as I said she only bought it yesterday, but it is up to her if she wants to get more stuff. Thanks for the suggestion though.

    I am about to recapture everything again, does anyone know on windv settings, on 'max avi size (frames)', what do I put? And I guess I choose avi 2?
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member stars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In the Lighthouse
    Search Comp PM
    Have you checked your camera on what type of audio it should record when you are filming...

    If its set to 12bit 32khz you should set it to 16bit 48kHz so it would be right next time
    you use your camera.

    stars...


    Are you using PAL its 25frames/s NTSC 29,760 frames/s

    1h PAL 90 000 frames
    1h NTSC 108 000 frames

    I would go for avi1 mode.. and beware windv makes small avi files depending on how you have
    used your camera...so every time you have stopped filming a scean there will be a new DV file...

    If you want a ONE BIG file use DVIO and preview the video using your cameras LCD screen....

    stars...
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks stars I will do that, if it has that option, good thinking.

    [quote] I am about to recapture everything again, does anyone know on windv settings, on 'max avi size (frames)', what do I put? And I guess I choose avi 2? [\quote]

    Could anyone tell me the settings for this please?
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member stars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In the Lighthouse
    Search Comp PM
    Are you using PAL its 25frames/s NTSC 29,760 frames/s

    1h PAL 90 000 frames
    1h NTSC 108 000 frames

    I would go for avi1 mode.. and beware windv makes small avi files depending on how you have
    used your camera...so every time you have stopped filming a scean there will be a new DV file...

    If you want a ONE BIG file use DVIO and preview the video using your cameras LCD screen....

    stars...
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I'm using PAl. But isn't avi 1 12bit, 32 khz? That is what I have already got, I want it 16bit, 48 khz, because tht is what someone told me was causing the slow-motion sound when I managed to fully encode it using convertxtodvd.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member stars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In the Lighthouse
    Search Comp PM
    avi1 can have many differnt audio format...
    I use 16bit 48kHz without any problems...

    The differens between avi1 and avi2 is how the audio is combined with the video stream...

    and never had any problems with the audio...

    stars...

    edit...maybe you have the slowmotion sound because the DV decoder expects 16bit 48kHz audio stream
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    OK, therefore I think I might already have avi 1 on the one I have already captured, because it is only one file. Does avi 2 have two files? If so, then I must have avi 1 because it is only one file. The problem with that file is that the audio is not the right sampling rate, which is what I need to change presumably.

    maybe you have the slowmotion sound because the DV decoder expects 16bit 48kHz audio stream
    Yes I think that is the problem, but how do I cahnge the sampling rate? I've tried canopus and virtualdub but they didn't work...
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member stars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In the Lighthouse
    Search Comp PM
    avi2 is only 1 file with the same size as the avi1 file...

    No differens there. The differens is how the audio is combined with the videostream...

    The audio format can be the same in both files...
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member stars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In the Lighthouse
    Search Comp PM
    I will send you a PM in 10min

    Yes I think that is the problem, but how do I cahnge the sampling rate? I've tried canopus and virtualdub but they didn't work...

    stars...
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Info on the captured file.

    fg.bmp
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Audio needs to be 48Khz for DVD.

    Isn't "free" software a joy? Look at all the money you've saved.
    BYW: Vegas Movie Studio is free with rebate at Fry's this weekend.
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member stars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In the Lighthouse
    Search Comp PM
    it looks fine its good that its 16bit...now you only have to upsampel it to 48kHz...

    Check your Inbox

    stars...
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the help and message, stars. I will report back soon.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads