VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I just recently acquired a new xbox elite and was thinking about using my nice pc lcd monitor for playback, the thing is my lcd doesnt have the hdmi input but it does have a dvi. So my question is will a hdmi to dvi cable allow me to use the 360 on my pc lcd.
    tnx
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by ivanho614
    I just recently acquired a new xbox elite and was thinking about using my nice pc lcd monitor for playback, the thing is my lcd doesnt have the hdmi input but it does have a dvi. So my question is will a hdmi to dvi cable allow me to use the 360 on my pc lcd.
    tnx
    You are saying you have an XBox360 with HDMI out? I thought that was just a rumor but I haven't been paying attention.

    Most will only work with the analog component or VGA cable sets.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Yea the new xbox elite has a hdmi out so will the hdmi to dvi cable wrk i know about the vga boxes and such but i would love 2 get the digital image.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by ivanho614
    Yea the new xbox elite has a hdmi out so will the hdmi to dvi cable wrk i know about the vga boxes and such but i would love 2 get the digital image.
    VGA is a cable.

    I didn't notice that the "Elite" is out. Let us know how it works.

    HDMI to DVI-D cables should work. For example:
    http://www.optimization-world.com/products/catid/4.html

    Audio will have to be separate.


    BTW: Let us know how DVI 1080p looks vs analog component. Max game resolution is 1280x720p. If you connect 720p, the TV upscales. If you connect 1080p, the XBox upscales.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    yea i know vga is a cable but a vga box is usualy the typical way ppl use there video game consoles on there pc monitors http://www.merconnet.com/index.php?cPath=49_45. anyhow yea i got dells 30in pc monitor with a res of 2560x1600 so it would be amazing 2 play the 360on it. I really want 2 hear from somone who actully has ran any hdmi out hardware into a pc monitor.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    I don't know why you would use one of those boxes when the standard Xbox360 supports VGA directly with this cable.
    http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/x/xbox360vgahdcable/

    I'll read up later on the HDMI connector but it is mainly targeted at HDTV sets at 1080i 1080p upscale or 720p direct connection.

    You are aware Xbox360 games are 720p max? You are just upscaling from there.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  7. Spider-Man 3 has 1080p and it looked amazing on the elite. The game isnt that great, but it sure looks damn good!
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Jake802
    Spider-Man 3 has 1080p and it looked amazing on the elite. The game isnt that great, but it sure looks damn good!
    You mean a HD DVD right.
    Quote Quote  
  9. No the back of the spider-man 3 game box says supported resolutions 1080p. NBA for ps3 is 1080p too! Both look insane!
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    OK I've been ignoring Xbox since January.

    I'll try to find a 1080p demo.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Yea i just double checked to be say it says 720p/1080i/1080p.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Yea i had no idea the xbox had a specific cable for the pc monitors thats pretty sweet. And yea i know that it obviously will be upscaled i mean i dont think anything supports the res of 2560x1600. and yea i had no idea that the 360 was making games in 1080p i just figured there addition of the hdmi in the elite was for there hidef movie content and there external hd dvd.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by ivanho614
    Yea i had no idea the xbox had a specific cable for the pc monitors thats pretty sweet. And yea i know that it obviously will be upscaled i mean i dont think anything supports the res of 2560x1600. and yea i had no idea that the 360 was making games in 1080p i just figured there addition of the hdmi in the elite was for there hidef movie content and there external hd dvd.
    Games at 1080p would need to be video stream based rather than 3d object/texture based. Just like 1280x720p games will be toad slow vs. 640x480 based and so on. Resolution and game speed are at odds.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads