VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3
1 2 3 LastLast
Thread
  1. Which VCR is the best for Restoration?

im new to this thread and i am so hapy for findindg it, even though i have been to this site a few times, i havent actually expored it like now.

i have been reading up throguh the different threads here and they just simply amaze me as to the fact restoring VHS tapes is something i love and wanted to do to get into the modern standards.

now, about VCR's, i know for a fact todays VCR's (even they hardly make them now) are not even as close to eing great s they were back in the early second millineum. thus it would be my target to find one somewhere like carbootsales and eBay.

i dont only want a VCR for playing random tapes, but i want a VCR to play any tape at superior tracking (so it wouldnt go off even on a very dodgy tape) and to scrap as much quality from the tape as possible (i dont know if that is possible). and also i like SVHS-ET, which i sometimes consider the best thing since slice bread.

me mentioning VCRs earlier in the 2000's, i am more or less a Panasonic person (screw Sony in alot of matters). and i have always had my eyes and heart set to the Panasonic NV-HS 960, which alot has considered a very good VCR but i would like to know if that is THE VCR that i am looking due to what i have mentioned above.

please someone correct me on this and help me as well. i would really appreciate it if someone can.

thanks very much, look forward to hearing from you lot. Cheers.
    Quote Quote  
  2. well i have but i hardly see the Panasonic Nv-Hs 960 been mentioned, unless its not the right VCR or the best to use when it comes to restoration?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Panasonic does not make much in the way of VCRs that are good in this area. JVC, however, does.
    Want my help? Ask here! (not via PM!)
    FAQs: Best Blank DiscsBest TBCsBest VCRs for captureRestore VHS
    Quote Quote