VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5
1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 123
Thread
  1. Member coody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Having tried to backup the 007 movie Casino Royale with the DVDFab, it displayed The folder is not a DVD folder. File(D:\VIDEO_TS\VIDEO_TS.IFO) does not exist. Neither can the DVD Shrink3.2 backup it. I also have the AnyDVD installed. Do you know how to deal with it and what kind of the Backup software can backup the 007 movie Casino Royale?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    DVD Decrypter. ISO Read, ISO Write. DVD+R DL disc.

    I've not tried, but that's a fool-proof method for anything.
    Want my help? Ask here! (not via PM!)
    FAQs: Best Blank DiscsBest TBCsBest VCRs for captureRestore VHS
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I backed it up. DVD Decrypter crapped out when I used ISO read mode. So I had to use RipIt4Me in ISO mode first, then import the protected sectors list into DVD Decrypter, then use ISO read mode on the disc, then ISO Write Mode in IMGBurn to a double layer disc.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Backed up perfectly with RipIt4Me which uses not only its own program, but also the latest versions of FixVTS, DVD Decrypter, and DVD Shrink, in a non-complicted and automated package.

    If you prefer to burn an ISO file with ImgBurn, there is a patch available that tells DVD Shrink to automatically burn with ImgBurn instead of DVD Decrypter.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member coody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    It seems several methods there. Can someone post the easiest way in detail to backup the Casino Royale? If people can learn how to backup the Casino Royale, then there should have no movies that cannot be backed up. BTW, the PowerDVD cannot play the movie by displaying “A disc with an unsupported format in drive D:
    Quote Quote  
  6. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    Mode ISO->Read, ISO->Write. That's it.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    ISO Read does not work by itself for Casino Royale. You have to get the protected sectors list via RipIt4Me first; otherwise it gives you read errors.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    If you want to crunch it down to a DVD-5 disc, RowMan's method should work fine. RipIt4Me>DVD Shrink>ImgBurn. The modified DVD Shrink using ImgBurn is here: http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=63869 All freeware and fairly easy to use. Just to mention, ImgBurn can now burn VIDEO_TS folders or ISO files.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Third Rock From The Sun
    Search Comp PM
    I tried AnyDVD 6.0.9.9 and I am getting the same error listed here. It does not show any folders on the DVD.
    "The name on the front of your shirt is more important than the name on the back"
    Kurt Russell - Miracle
    Quote Quote  
  10. DVD Ninja budz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In the shadows.....
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by tmaxwell2435
    I tried AnyDVD 6.0.9.9 and I am getting the same error listed here. It does not show any folders on the DVD.
    Which is why using RIPIT4ME is best to use.
    Quote Quote  
  11. RipIt4Me.org shows how this program automatically uses the other programs necessary for a proper rip, shrink and burn.

    Start by first doing a fresh install of the latest versions of DVD Shrink and DVD Decrypter. Then use the RipIt4Me INSTALLER file (found on their downloads page) which already includes FixVTS. Once set up, ripping, shrinking, and burning should be a breeze.

    RipIt4Me is especially easy to use for those that are familiar to backing up discs with the old stand-bys DVD Decrypter and DVD Shrink. For those who have used other programs for back-ups, it's still pretty simple once everything is properly set up.

    Note: There have only been one or two titles that I ripped and shrunk that would not play in a JVC DVD player, but that was fixed by unchecking "Remove Protected Cells" in the a Advanced Options of RipIt4Me. Now I just leave that option unchecked by default and the problem has never come up again.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member coody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Do you mean backing up the Casino Royale only needs the following tools, DVD Shrink, DVD Decrypter and RipIt4Me Installer? Is it necessary to download the RipIt4Me Version 1.7.0.0 additionally or the RipIt4Me Installer has already included it?
    Quote Quote  
  13. DVD Ninja budz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In the shadows.....
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by coody
    Do you mean backing up the Casino Royale only needs the following tools, DVD Shrink, DVD Decrypter and RipIt4Me Installer? Is it necessary to download the RipIt4Me Version 1.7.0.0 additionally or the RipIt4Me Installer has already included it?
    Just download the latest version of RIPIT4ME & FIXVTS and install them. If you already have DVDSHRINK & DVD DECRYPTER you're good to go. Read the guide on how to use RIPIT4ME.

    http://www.ripit4me.org/guide.html

    It's not a hard program to use.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Ripit4me didn't work for me. Using the latest version, Full Disc mode it crapped out on the first VOB file. Shut it off, opened ANYDVD, opened CLONEDVD2 without removing the DVD from the drive and copied it no problem. So much for Ripit4me.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    Sounds like a definitive test with unarguable results. Everyone should uninstall all free software and use payware instead. It's always better.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Originally Posted by coody
    Do you mean backing up the Casino Royale only needs the following tools, DVD Shrink, DVD Decrypter and RipIt4Me Installer? Is it necessary to download the RipIt4Me Version 1.7.0.0 additionally or the RipIt4Me Installer has already included it?
    The RipIt4Me Installer file is always updated to install the latest versions of RipIt4Me, FixVTS, and the RipIt4Me help files. You'll just need to have DVD Decrypter v3.5.4.0 and DVD Shrink v3.2.0.15 already installed. It's really the easiest way install the program.

    For the period of time between when the maker of DVD Decrypter announced that the program would no longer be updated and when RipIt4me was released, I caved and bought AnyDVD. While a great payware program (which I still recommend to my less technical friends), RipIt4Me has become the only program for ripping DVDs I use. Since installing it (and keeping it and FixVTS updated), I have not come across one DVD movie it would not back-up.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member coody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I have tried the RipIt4Me. After placing the movie disc into the DVD drive, the RipIt4Me displayed “No disc in drive.” However, my another pc with the old version 1.6.3.0 does not have such a problem. What may cause "no disc in drive" problem and how to resolve it?
    Quote Quote  
  18. I never had the "no disc" problem with version 1.7.0.0, but some have. The folks at RipIt4Me seem to be working on this.

    From the RipIt4Me homepage...

    ====================
    News/Announcements:
    8 March: Version 1.7.1.0 BETA 1 released (as version 1.7.0.99).
    Hopefully, this will solve the "Disk is not DVD issue". Please give us some feedback in the forum. Other changes can be found in the changelog.
    ====================


    The March 9th update on the Videohelp.com page states this...

    ====================
    Version 1.7.1.0 BETA (9 March, 2007)
    * Attempted to fix the "Not a DVD" problem that some users have had in 1.7.0.0. If that still does not work, post the debug log you get during Step1.
    ====================
    Quote Quote  
  19. Download the latest version of DVDFab (3.0.8, I think). This version blew right past whatever encryption the DVD had after it summarily brought Shrink and DVD Decrypter to their proverbial knees. Checked chapters once the job was done and all looks good.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Third Rock From The Sun
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by budz
    Originally Posted by tmaxwell2435
    I tried AnyDVD 6.0.9.9 and I am getting the same error listed here. It does not show any folders on the DVD.
    Which is why using RIPIT4ME is best to use.
    Yes I know. Just wanted to throw in what I tried. I did end up using RIPIT4ME and it worked fine.
    "The name on the front of your shirt is more important than the name on the back"
    Kurt Russell - Miracle
    Quote Quote  
  21. I forgot to mention in my last post regarding the success of DVDFab 3.08(?): I did not run the resulting image through Shrink. Rather, I chose to make a DL copy because I'm such a Bond fan. Hence, I can't vouch for interaction with Shrink after you run it through DVDFab.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member GreyDeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois USA
    Search Comp PM
    I just made a back up with DVDFabDecrypter 3.0.8.0, and DVD Shrink. The movie plays fine, but at the end of the film, it froze up PowerDVD on my laptop, and actually turned off my Sony DVD player when I played it in there. Weird.

    I also noticed it has 99 VOB files, that's kinda odd. :/

    And what the heck? No Commentary Track??
    "*sigh* Warned you, we tried. Listen, you did not. Now SCREWED, we all will be!" ~Yoda
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member coody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    It has been tested that the DVD Decripter, DVD Shrink and RipIt4Me installed together can backup the Casino Royale while the DVDFab Decripter can’t. The DVDFab Decripter 3.0.8.0 seems difficulty to recognize the new format that results in the initial scan either never stop or does not start. The RipIt4Me problem is it may display “no disc in drive” and the completed disc has freeze frames (don’t know why).

    Backing up Casino Royale is a good way to test DVD backup software. Someone has reported ANYDVD plus CLONEDVD2 can backup the movie. Is there other backup software can do the job better?
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member GreyDeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois USA
    Search Comp PM
    I should clarify, by "end of the movie" I mean after the credits are all done and it's supposed to go back to the menu. If a backup plays the whole movie, I consider that a success.

    I did notice that it took a few more passes than normal to recognize the DVD in FabDecypter though, for what it's worth.
    "*sigh* Warned you, we tried. Listen, you did not. Now SCREWED, we all will be!" ~Yoda
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member coody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I tested the DVDFab Decripter by first placing the Casino Royale DVD into the drive. The message displayed scan disc but never stopped. So I had to eject the disc and then changed the other movie disc. This time it immediately recognized the movie source in the drive. If it is not a poor reading ability problem (to the new format), what is it? The RipIt4Me, however, resulted in the freeze frams in the finalized disc.
    Quote Quote  
  26. DVD Ninja budz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In the shadows.....
    Search Comp PM
    All this mumble jumble....I backed up my copy using RIPIT4ME with no problems in the disc freezing at any point of the movie.
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    When using RipIt4Me, it's important to allow it to run the latest version of FIXVTS. RipIt4Me will prompt you when it opens if there is a newer version available. If there is, let it download and install it. This is also important with RipI4Me as well. It is updated very often with the necessary ripping info on the latest movies. If you attempt to copy a newly released movie and haven't installed the latest update, you can join the posters above who reported problems. It's very important that FIXVTS be enabled to run with RipIt4Me. This will insure that the structures are fixed after it is ripped. If this isn't done, there is a good chance the copied disc won't have a compliant structure which accounts for some of the problems mentioned. If you run RipIt4Me properly it will copy Casino Royale perfectly but you can't run it just any old way.
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    AnyDVD 6.1.3.0..CloneDVD2
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Backed up Casino Royale with Dvd Decrypter in ISO mode read---ImgBurn for the write. Had AnyDvd in the background. Also made a single layer copy using Dvd Rebuilder Pro/CCE Basic. Everything worked great. The DL is identical to my original and plays flawlessly.
    MovieDud
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by tmaxwell2435
    I tried AnyDVD 6.0.9.9 and I am getting the same error listed here. It does not show any folders on the DVD.
    Your AnyDVD is several versions out of date. As of today (16 March 2007) the latest version is 6.1.3.2. You should update and try it again (assuming you want to use AnyDVD).
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads