VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, I'm new to Linux working with SimplyMepis

I downloaded the divx 6.1.1 for Linux
    http://labs.divx.com/DivXLinuxCodec

I tried to install it in a root console window but I get errors. I read the comments on the main page of the site but I still get the errors. Has anyone been have to fix the install.sh so it actually works. Based on the file dates this problem has been around for over a year now and even started with a previous version. You would think that after a year this would have been fixed.
    please don't say use something else. I need the faster speed "High Performance" mode for captures. I have a Dvp-642 and xvids sometimes cause problems. If I get a Philips 5960 I will want to try menus.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    You could always unpack the contents.dat file and manually copy/link the files. Password is in the script.

Xvid should be fine on a DVP-642 as long as you do a 2 pass encode with a HT profile. There is also some alternative 2nd pass code that makes the VBV more strict. You might also want to adjust the code so that N-VOP's can be disabled.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks I saw the password in the script and I did what you say but finally I found a few other errors and I added a longer path pointing to where I had the contents.dat file and it found it.
    The paths aren't the same for the libs etc.

Someone linked to a site in french that showed how to replace 3 lines of code and adding the complete path for each directory of the .h files. The script now runs right through with no errors but when I tried acidrip I couldn't see the divx codec as an option to encode from DVD to avi. It's the only app I have right now that lets me select the codec for encoding.

Now I don't know if it actually installed it or if it's a path problem.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM