VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello, I've started using ffmpegX and I have some questions where I would like your assistance.

(Please note that I'm a complete newbie when it comes to video conversion techniques/terminology/etc.)

1.a. When using the ffmpeg engine, what does the "Decode with QT" option (found in "Options") actualy mean/do?

1.b. Similarly, I can't quite figure out what to do with the whole letterbox/resizing issue. I don't have a 16:9 TV set (it's the standard 4:3); while fullscreen (read: no black bars) would be nice, I think that changing the ratio may result in part of the picture getting lost or something? So, I think I'd like to keep the original image ratio as untouched as possible, if touching it means things may get lost along the way. So how do I proceed with the letterbox option?

2.a. I've made sure to install the mencoder, mplayer and mpeg2end binaries. The "Preview" button found under "Info | Play" (screenshot) won't work at all (non-responsive) -- is that normal?

2.b. The "Play" button works but when I close the mplayer window that pops up, I'm greeted with a "The application mplayer quit unexpectedly" window -- screenshot. This is the log that comes up if I click on the "Report..." button.

2.c. Similarly, if I click the "Preview" button found in the "Filters" tab (screenshot -- the only functioning "Preview" button), when I close the resulting mplayer window I get this message.

Then I'm greeted with the same "The application mplayer quit unexpectedly" window as in (2.b.) and this is the log that comes up if I click on the "Report..." button.

Any idea what's wrong? How do I fix these errors?

Thank you very much for your help in advance. I appreciate it!
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    2b/2c. One should quit mplayer by using the <Return>, <q> or <ESC> key. It will then stop/close without any error messages.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM