VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I'm a computer newb, but you're probably used to that. I'll try to explain my problem as clearly as possible...

So I have this shitty free burning program that came with my computer for free. Power2Go. I try burning a .avi video file first. I insert a new DVD+R. The program tells me I need to insert a burnable disk and isn't recognizing it as burnable at all.

I assume I have the wrong type of DVD, so I go out and buy a pack of DVD-R's. Same deal. I pop it in, my program tells me it's not a burnable disk.

So then I think "Well this free Power2Go program might be the problem!" So I get Nero. Now theres several options for HOW to burn DVDs. I tried them all, and tried to work with both .avi files and folders full of VTS files. Every time my burner refues to recognize either DVD+R or DVD-R as burnable.

Can anyone help me?

Because I figure someone will ask, in my Device Manager, under "DVD/CD-ROM drives" these are listed:
    HL-DT-ST DVD-ROM GDR8164B
    HL-DT-ST RW/DVD GCC-4482B

My Gateway support page has this listed:

CD-RW/DVD Combo Drives
    HLDS 48X/32X/48X CD-RW/DVD Combination Drive [Part #WMEGCC-4482BSILVER]

I don't actually know if that is all the information you need, so let me know if theres anymore informations I can give you.

My boyfriend mentioned something about "updating drivers" but I don't know what that means or how to do it...

Thank you for any help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    A "combo" drive means it reads dvd, but won't burn them. You can only burn cds with that drive.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    What he said, you can only burn CDs not DVDs with those.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,