VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Master of Time & Space Capmaster's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I upgraded my PC about 2 weeks ago. The new graphics card has DVI and TV out, two features I hadn't had on the previous card.

Recently I started playing Doom 3. When it first came out several years ago, we didn't have a PC with enough "huevos" to run it, like many people complained about. iD Software even admitted their gaffe making it so large and resource-hungry.

With the new upgrade I can finally run it flawlessly 8) The game has some amazing graphics

Yesterday I played around with the TV Out feature on my card and plumbed it into my Snazzi MPEG capture box on the other PC, hoping to grab some video to play with.

All it shows is a static image of my Windows desktop, with no desktop icons or video content. Even after I start Doom 3, the scene is the same. I suspect it's because Doom 3 is a pseudo-DOS game still, and the card's driver won't support this mode. When, oh when will games be purely 32-bit or 64-bit, and get away from the legacy 16-bit programming entirely?

I know we have lots of video-knowledgeable people here as well as many gamers, and many computer and video-savvy gamers. Any ideas? Thoughts? Has anyone encountered this problem and found a workaround for it?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Instead of extending your desktop onto a second display, put the second display in mirror mode (ie a copy of the desktop). And for movies enable Theater mode in the ATI drivers.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Master of Time & Space Capmaster's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks. I tried that and it looked horrible.

I think I have a workaround:

1. Created autoexec.cfg in doom3/base dir:

set startrec "recordDemo; set demorec vstr stoprec"
    set stoprec "stopRecording; set demorec vstr startrec"
    set demorec "vstr startrec"
    bind F10 vstr demorec
    That sets up F10 to toggle demo recording mode.

2. Recorded demo (file ended up as base/demos/demo000.demo).