VideoHelp Forum




+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 30 of 30
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,

    I've created a script to convert PAL DVD to NTSC DVD with FitToDisc. Could you please advise whether the script is correct (resizing part)?

    LanczosResize(720,480)

    The PAL DVD is 720x576 (PAL625/50) (16:9) (letterboxed).

    As per GSpot the converted NTSC DVD has the same aspect ratio as PAL DVD - 1,778 (16:9) and resoltion 720 x 480.

    What is confusing to me that the converted NTSC DVD (created with the script) while playing on my standalone has no black bars on top and bottom. Is it OK if we are talking about WS 16:9?

    Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member mats.hogberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sweden (PAL)
    Search Comp PM
    16:9 is always 16:9 regardless of resolution. Simply, PAL is 720x576, NTSC 720x480, be it 16.9 or 4:3. a 16:9 DVD played on a 16:9 display shouldn't require any black bars.

    /Mats
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you, mats!

    I just got used that whaever movie I play on the standalone including converted from PAL (16:9) to NTSC (16:9), I see those black bars on the TV screen -)

    The picture that I've got after the conversion to NTSC DVD is exactly the same (size) as PAL DVD, which probably proves that what you advised is right.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,

    I am taking my chances to be dumped right on the spot but I have to ask the question. Sorry!

    I am still pretty much confused about the script LanczosResize(720,480) that was created by FitToDisc for conversion of PAL DVD to NTSC DVD. I checked the post (https://forum.videohelp.com/viewtopic.php?t=313784&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=30). I was advised then that I screwed the conversion. To-day after the conversion I've got exactly the same picture without borders (on TV).

    Here is the original PAL DVD image:



    The picture after conversion with LanczosResize(720,480):




    To check whether the script is correct, I tried what I was advised for conversion from PAL DVD (16:9) to NTSC DVD (16:9) in another post (guns1inger, forgive me if I understood it wrong):

    crop(0,72,-0,-72)
    LanczosResize(720,360)
    AddBorders(0,60,0,60)

    and I've got a different picture (different size of the black borders).

    So, I decided to try FitToDisc another time and it gave me a different script (why?):

    LanczosResize(720,400,0,0,720,480)
    AddBorders(0,40,0,40)

    After that I've got the third picture. The pictures from all the three scripts look very decent on my TV. What script is the right one? Why if all look OK on TV?

    Thanks a lot!
    Quote Quote  
  5. Your script is converting to a 4:3 DVD. Remove the Crop() and AddBorders(), change LanczosResize() to 720x480, and encode as 16:9 anamorphic DVD. Let the DVD player add the borders when it plays it on a 4:3 DVD. It should look like this:



    When you play it back on a 4:3 TV it will have borders something like your second sample image. On a 16:9 TV it will fill the screen.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    jagabo, thank you!

    Do you mean that none of the three scripts is correct?

    Could you please specify from what script I should remove and so on... as the first script that I've got with FitToDisc has no borders or cropping?

    Why anamorphic? Actually I tried to check "Anamorphic" in FTD but it produced side borders.

    Thank you!
    Quote Quote  
  7. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    Did you tell Fit2Disc that your source is 720 x 576 DVD, and not 1:1 ? It looks like Fit2Disc is trying to compensate for pixel aspect ratios because you have mis-identified the source.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, guns1inger!

    What I do, I just click "Source" button in FTD and open the "name.m2v"

    I see 720 x 576 DVD on the left side and PAL and ITU-R BT checked. On the right side, PAL is checked.

    I uncheck "PAL" and get the script: LanczosResize(720,480,0,0,720,576)

    As far as I understan it is the same as (720,480), isn't it?

    If I try to check "Anamorphick" as jagabo advised, I see huge black bars on the left and right sides.

    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by vertical
    Do you mean that none of the three scripts is correct?
    The very first script is correct, simply LanczosResize(720, 480).

    Originally Posted by vertical
    Why anamorphic?
    Because your source is Anamorphic 16:9. So you might as well create an anamorphic 16:9 NTSC DVD to retain as much resolution as possible.

    Originally Posted by vertical
    I uncheck "PAL" and get the script: LanczosResize(720,480,0,0,720,576)
    As far as I understan it is the same as (720,480), isn't it?
    Yes, they're the same.

    Originally Posted by vertical
    If I try to check "Anamorphick" as jagabo advised, I see huge black bars on the left and right sides.
    Select anamorophic on both sides of FitCD (because your source is anamorphic 16:9) and you won't get the bars.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Here is how I would do it.

    Code:
    LanczosResize(720,480)
    Crop(8,12,-8,-10)
    AddBorders(8,12,8,10)
    I admit I love cutting out any existing black even the 8 pixels on either side (even though here there are no black on the right side).

    I'm just crazy silly like that

    My version at 720x480:



    My version adjusted for proper aspect ratio:



    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    jagabo, thank you.

    If I click "Anamorphic" as on the pic above, I get large black borders on the right and left sides. Is it OK? Thnx!

    Soory, I was posting while you have laready provided your advice about Anamorphic.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    Again, you need to tell it about the source. The source is anamorphic. Did you tick Anamorphic for the source ?
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, John,

    Actually, I did try to crop 12/10 but it looks like I still do not understand it properly.

    I tried it as:

    Crop(6,12,-0,-10)
    LanczosResize(720,480)
    AddBorders(8,12,8,10)

    but I've got something weird back -)
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    guns1inger and jagabo,

    Unfortunately I do not know how to determine whether the source is anamorpic or not if FTD does not show it.

    How can I determine this? Thank you!

    I checked and whether I check "Anamorphic" on both sides or uncheck it on both sides< I get exactly the same script:

    LanczosResize(720,480,0,0,720,576)
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vertical
    Hi, John,

    Actually, I did try to crop 12/10 but it looks like I still do not understand it properly.

    I tried it as:

    Crop(6,12,-0,-10)
    LanczosResize(720,480)
    AddBorders(8,12,8,10)

    but I've got something weird back -)
    Crop(left,top,-right,-bottom)

    AddBorders(left,top,right,bottom)


    So if you wanted to cut 6 from the left and 12 from the top and 10 from the bottom and nothing from the right then you would do it like this:

    LanczosResize(720,480)
    Crop(6,12,-0,-10)
    AddBorders(6,12,0,10)


    Does that make sense now?

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman

    P.S.
    I always like to cut 8 from either side but that's just me and my "unusual" ways LOL
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  16. A 16:9 image stuffed into a 720x576 frame makes everything look very tall and skinny on a square pixel PC monitor. That's how we could tell you source was anamorphic.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vertical
    guns1inger and jagabo,

    Unfortunately I do not know how to determine whether the source is anamorpic or not if FTD does not show it.

    How can I determine this? Thank you!
    Open the DVD in VirtualDubMod (you can open one of the VOB files directly).

    Then "right click" with your mouse on the image in the window (left hand window) and select "4:3" and then select "16x9" and see which one looks correct.

    Only one will have the proper aspect ratio and you should be able to tell easily even if you have to go back and forth from "4:3" to "16x9" a few times.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Guys,

    I checked now: whether I check "Anamorphic" on both sides of FTD or uncheck it on both sides, I get exactly the same script:

    LanczosResize(720,480,0,0,720,576)

    John, thank you! That is really helpfull.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Of course. Both use the same frame size for 16:9 and 4:3.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Your original Pal source is anamorphic. If it was 4:3 letterboxed there would be bigger black borders. Just resize the whole 16:9 PAL frame to NTSC (720x480), as said throughout this thread. And set to encode to 16:9. Don't worry about the borders for this movie.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vertical
    Guys,

    I checked now: whether I check "Anamorphic" on both sides of FTD or uncheck it on both sides, I get exactly the same script:

    LanczosResize(720,480,0,0,720,576)
    That's because when both sides are Anamophic you are telling it that they "match" and when both sides are not checkmarked for Anamophic you are telling it that they "match".

    4:3 PAL = 4:3 NTSC or 720x576 = 720x480

    16:9 PAL = 16x9 NTSC or 720x576 = 720x480

    Where you will run into problems is if you select one side as anamorphic and select the other side as not anamorphic and the settings are incorrect. For instance if the source is really anamorphic but you don't checkmark that for the source but then you do checkmark anamorphic for the destination ... well then it will screw up the resize.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you all for your time and patience!

    It looks like I am getting it, step by step. Actaully I undertsand some stuff already but once I see something new like Anamorphic (how to determine it) I have to start over.

    Thank you!!!

    Sorry, one last question. Does it make any difference if I check "Anamorphic" on both sides of FTD if eventually I get exactly the same script as without checking anamorphic? How will Procoder understand that it is anamorphic?

    Thank you!
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vertical
    Thank you all for your time and patience!

    It looks like I am getting it, step by step. Actaully I undertsand some stuff already but once I see something new like Anamorphic (how to determine it) I have to start over.

    Thank you!!!

    Sorry, one last question. Does it make any difference if I check "Anamorphic" on both sides of FTD if eventually I get exactly the same script as without checking anamorphic? How will Procoder understand that it is anamorphic?

    Thank you!
    All MPEG-2 encoders have an option where you must tell it if the source is 4:3 or 16:9

    I don't use Procoder so I don't know where that setting is but you will have to set it properly.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Actually I noticed the difference in FTD. If I click Anamorphic on both sides, I see real asoect ratio as 1.8228 while without clicking Anamorphic it is 1.3671. But how an encoder will understand that if the script is just the same?

    John, yes, Procoder has an option to choose between 4:3 and 16:9 but does it tell it that the source is anamorphic?
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vertical
    Actually I noticed the difference in FTD. If I click Anamorphic on both sides, I see real asoect ratio as 1.8228 while without clicking Anamorphic it is 1.3671. But how an encoder will understand that if the script is just the same?

    John, yes, Procoder has an option to choose between 4:3 and 16:9 but does it tell it that the source is anamorphic?
    The encoder doesn't know which is why you must tell it. That is why you have to set it up for 4:3 or 16:9 by selecting the correct option.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you, John!
    Quote Quote  
  27. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    When you select your target output you get an option to enter an Aspect Ratio code. The default is 4 x 3, you want to change it to 16 x 9
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  28. To get the original DAR, you can also open a VOB in DGIndex and run the Preview. In the Information window that opens up, it'll tell you at the top.
    Quote Quote  
  29. GSpot can also tell you the DAR of MPEG and VOB files.
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you!
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!