VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,
    Sorry I’m a bit new to the stand alone recorders so I’m hoping for some clarification on a few things before I go out and buy a Polaroid DRM-2001G.

Question 1: I noticed many people unhappy because the Tuner is Mono. If I recall correctly the tuner is the player’s ability to receive analog TV? So if I have satellite would this model record from that source in mono or stereo?

Question 2: I don’t know if this is standard on these but since I have satellite dose this have a Electronic Program Guide/Interface Program Guide ? Or dose it still use timers like the older VCR’s do?

Question 3: In the initial tests post for this unit I noticed there was no macro vision/region code workaround this was in July, as of recently this was posted in the “Dvd Hacks” section:
    Region code posted by kris, November 27 2006:
    Macro hack:
    Power On. Tray Open. Press 0 0 8 6 0 0 0 slowly on the remote. Then press Okay. May need to be done every time unit is turned on.
    Dose anyone know if this works?

Also can anyone recommend any other players in the similar price range that may be a better choice?

Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. GTLifter,

If you use the Audio in connectors, it's stereo. The unit only Outputs 480p btw, but you can actually input an S-Video signal to it from your receiver, and it will output it in component.

Don't know about the hack, haven't tried it.

It's timer really sucks, and leaves a blinking logo on the screen which is not recorded until the timer is done.

I am NOT a fan a DVD Recorders. I like to capture stuff via DV and then clean it up, but of the 2 DVD Recorders I own, the Polaroid FAR exceeds my Lite-on 5006 in quality.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hey,