VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3
1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 77
Thread
  1. My NEC 1300A (firmware 1.0A) has been very well to me until recently when it keeps giving me burn errors.
    my computer does seem to be running slower than usual so I don't know if that may hae to do with it. Here is my error log:

    7:22:01 PM #1 Text 0 File Isodoc.cpp, Line 6013
    Iso document burn settings
    ------------------------------------------
    Determine maximum speed : FALSE
    Simulate : FALSE
    Write : TRUE
    Finalize CD : TRUE
    Multisession : FALSE
    Burning mode : DAO
    Mode : 1
    ISO Level : 1 (Max. of 11 = 8 + 3 char)
    Character set : ISO 9660
    Joliet : TRUE
    Allow pathdepth more than 8 directories : TRUE
    Allow more than 255 characters in path : TRUE
    Write ISO9660 ;1 file extensions : TRUE

    7:22:01 PM #2 Text 0 File Reader.cpp, Line 118
    Reader running

    7:22:01 PM #3 Text 0 File Writer.cpp, Line 124
    Writer _NEC DVD_RW ND-1300A running

    7:22:01 PM #4 ISO9660GEN -11 File geniso.cpp, Line 3882
    First writeable address = 0 (0x00000000)

    7:22:01 PM #5 Text 0 File Burncd.cpp, Line 3218
    Turn on Disc-at-once, using DVD media

    7:22:01 PM #6 Text 0 File DlgWaitCD.cpp, Line 233
    Last possible write address on media: 2295103 (510:01.28)
    Last address to be written: 2173973 (483:06.23)

    7:22:01 PM #7 Text 0 File DlgWaitCD.cpp, Line 238
    Write in overburning mode: FALSE

    7:22:01 PM #8 Text 0 File DlgWaitCD.cpp, Line 1997
    Recorder: _NEC DVD_RW ND-1300A, Media type: DVD+R

    7:22:01 PM #9 Text 0 File DlgWaitCD.cpp, Line 398
    >>> Protocol of DlgWaitCD activities: <<<
    =========================================

    7:22:01 PM #10 Text 0 File ThreadedTransferInterface.cpp, Line 773
    Setup items (after recorder preparation)
    0: TRM_DATA_MODE1 (CTransferItem)
    2 indices, index0 (150) not provided
    original disc pos #0 + 2173824 (2173824) = #2173824/483:4.24
    relocatable, disc pos for caching/writing not required/required, no patch infos
    -> TRM_DATA_MODE1, 2048, config 0, wanted index0 0 blocks, length 2173824 blocks [_NEC DVD_RW ND-1300A ]
    --------------------------------------------------------------

    7:22:01 PM #11 Text 0 File ThreadedTransferInterface.cpp, Line 942
    Prepare recorder [_NEC DVD_RW ND-1300A ] for write in CUE-sheet-DAO
    DAO infos:
    ==========
    MCN: ""
    TOCType: 0x00; Session Closed, disc fixated
    Tracks 1 to 1:
    1: TRM_DATA_MODE1, 2048/0x00, FilePos 0 0 4451991552, ISRC ""
    DAO layout:
    ===========
    __Start_|____Track_|_Idx_|_RecDep_|_CtrlAdr_
    0 | lead-in | 0 | 0x00 | 0x41
    0 | 1 | 0 | 0x00 | 0x41
    0 | 1 | 1 | 0x00 | 0x41
    2173824 | lead-out | 1 | 0x00 | 0x41

    7:22:01 PM #12 Phase 24 File dlgbrnst.cpp, Line 1803
    Caching of files started

    7:22:01 PM #13 Phase 25 File dlgbrnst.cpp, Line 1803
    Caching of files completed

    7:22:01 PM #14 Phase 36 File dlgbrnst.cpp, Line 1803
    Burn process started at 4x (5,520 KB/s)

    7:22:01 PM #15 Text 0 File ThreadedTransferInterface.cpp, Line 2146
    Verifying disc position of item 0 (relocatable, disc pos, no patch infos, orig at #0): write at #0

    7:22:01 PM #16 SCSI -1066 File Cdrdrv.cpp, Line 1167
    SCSI Exec, HA 1, TA 1, LUN 0, buffer 0x02C85000
    Status: 0x04 (0x01, SCSI_ERR)
    HA-Status 0x00 (0x00, OK)
    TA-Status 0x02 (0x01, SCSI_TASTATUS_CHKCOND)
    Sense Key: 0x05 (KEY_ILLEGAL_REQUEST)
    Sense Code: 0x24
    Sense Qual: 0x00
    CDB Data: 0xAD 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x08 0x04 0x00 0x00
    Sense Data: 0x70 0x00 0x05 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x0A
    0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x24 0x00

    7:22:01 PM #17 Text 0 File dlgbrnst.cpp, Line 1661
    Set remaining time: 13:37,129 (817129ms) -> OK

    7:22:01 PM #18 Text 0 File DVDPlusRW.cpp, Line 566
    Start write address at LBA 0
    DVD high compatibility mode: Yes

    7:29:19 PM #19 SCSI -1093 File Cdrdrv.cpp, Line 1427
    SCSI Exec, HA 1, TA 1, LUN 0, buffer 0x02F30000
    Status: 0x04 (0x01, SCSI_ERR)
    HA-Status 0x00 (0x00, OK)
    TA-Status 0x02 (0x01, SCSI_TASTATUS_CHKCOND)
    Sense Key: 0x03 (KEY_MEDIUM_ERROR)
    Sense Code: 0x02
    Sense Qual: 0x00
    CDB Data: 0x2A 0x00 0x00 0x03 0xAC 0xA0 0x00 0x00 0x20 0x00 0x00 0x00
    Sense Data: 0x70 0x00 0x03 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x0A
    0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x02 0x00

    7:29:19 PM #20 CDR -1093 File Writer.cpp, Line 301
    No seek complete

    7:29:19 PM #21 Text 0 File ThreadedTransfer.cpp, Line 229
    all writers idle, stopping conversion

    7:29:20 PM #22 Text 0 File ThreadedTransfer.cpp, Line 223
    conversion idle, stopping reader

    7:29:20 PM #23 SCSI -1135 File Cdrdrv.cpp, Line 1167
    SCSI Exec, HA 1, TA 1, LUN 0
    Status: 0x04 (0x01, SCSI_ERR)
    HA-Status 0x00 (0x00, OK)
    TA-Status 0x02 (0x01, SCSI_TASTATUS_CHKCOND)
    Sense Key: 0x03 (KEY_MEDIUM_ERROR)
    Sense Code: 0x0C
    Sense Qual: 0x00
    CDB Data: 0x5B 0x01 0x01 0x00 0x00 0x01 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00
    Sense Data: 0x70 0x00 0x03 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x0A
    0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x0C 0x00

    7:29:20 PM #24 SCSI -1176 File Cdrdrv.cpp, Line 1167
    SCSI Exec, HA 1, TA 1, LUN 0
    Status: 0x04 (0x01, SCSI_ERR)
    HA-Status 0x00 (0x00, OK)
    TA-Status 0x02 (0x01, SCSI_TASTATUS_CHKCOND)
    Sense Key: 0x05 (KEY_ILLEGAL_REQUEST)
    Sense Code: 0x72
    Sense Qual: 0x03
    CDB Data: 0x5B 0x01 0x05 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00
    Sense Data: 0x70 0x00 0x05 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x0A
    0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x72 0x03

    7:29:20 PM #25 Phase 127 File dlgbrnst.cpp, Line 1803
    Generating DVD high compatibility borders

    7:29:20 PM #26 Text 0 File dlgbrnst.cpp, Line 1661
    Set remaining time: 0:00,000 (0ms) -> OK

    7:29:20 PM #27 CDR -1135 File WriterStatus.cpp, Line 162
    Write error
    _NEC DVD_RW ND-1300A\H1 T1

    7:29:20 PM #28 TRANSFER -24 File WriterStatus.cpp, Line 162
    Could not perform end of Disc-at-once

    7:29:20 PM #29 Text 0 File dlgbrnst.cpp, Line 1661
    Set remaining time: 0:00,000 (0ms) -> OK

    7:29:20 PM #30 Phase 38 File dlgbrnst.cpp, Line 1803
    Burn process failed at 4x (5,520 KB/s)

    please help! I may just retire this and get a newet DL burner if necessary, but i'd prefer not yet if it's salvagable.

    Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    The NEC ND-1300A was my first DVD burner.

    That was a LONG time ago.

    So it wouldn't surprise me that it is finally giving you issues ... it's old!

    As for mine ... I got a new computer with a newer DVD burner that was faster with DL capability so I stopped using my NEC ND-1300A long before I had issues with it.

    But my point is ... that model is so old now ... no wonder it isn't working anymore.

    Time I think for something new.

    At least a new DVD burner can be had for around $50 or so ... I think I paid around $200 for my NEC DN-1300A when I first got it plus a blank DVD-R was around $3.50 at the time.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  3. Yea, it is pretty old, (I paid $100 for it back in the day) so maybe it is just finally showing its life. My computer has been slower than usual lately though, so if it's a hard drive or other hardware issue, I don't want to spend the money on a new dvd burner if it won't fix it.

    I do like my NEC tho, so for a new one, would you suggest one of the newer NECs as well or another brand?

    THanks!
    Quote Quote  
  4. As inexpensive as DVD writers are these days (<$50), having to buy another one isn't so bad.

    I use an NEC ND-3450A with great results. Before that an NEC ND-2500A (still in service). It's good to have a couple just in case something like your situation happens.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    I'm not "up" on current DVD burner models but generally speaking you can't go wrong with Pioneer or NEC models.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman

    P.S.
    Now that I think about it maybe my NEC ND-1300A was $100 and not $200 but that was SO long ago I forget now LOL but I do remember that 10 packs of 2x DVD-R discs (Maxell and Fuji) were $34.99 in retail stores. Of course they came in full sized CD style jewel cases but still that was a lot of money per disc.
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  6. so based on the age of my burner and the error code, you guys think it's the burner and not anything else? I just dont want to install the new burner and still be having the same issues.

    this didn't happen till just recently, when my computer started acting up, i did a system restore and all seemed fine, then undid my restore cause of some program activation issues, and then just last night started having issues. It gave me errors, after a restart it burned about 3 dvds fine, and now is giving issues again.
    on the computer front, programs seems to be lagging a lot, and will temporarily not respond if i try to switch to another program, again a recent problem. So if its another hardware issue besides the burner, dont want to bury my trust nec1300a just yet, at least not until a good deal on a new burner shows up.
    Quote Quote  
  7. My point about having two burners. If the problem persists on the new burner then that's an indication that it's not the old burner but something with the system. If the new burner works fine, that's an indication that the old burner may be the problem. No it's not the cheapest way to diagnose the problem, but it may be the quickest.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bobkart
    My point about having two burners. If the problem persists on the new burner then that's an indication that it's not the old burner but something with the system. If the new burner works fine, that's an indication that the old burner may be the problem. No it's not the cheapest way to diagnose the problem, but it may be the quickest.
    Plus you could always buy a DVD burner at a retail store ... thus you can easily return it if it is also giving you problems ... which would indicate that the issue is not the NEC but something else.

    I once bought a capture card from Circuit City to try it out even though it was nearly 50% more than mail-order. When I found out I liked it I returned it to Circuit City and ordered it on-line. heh.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  9. I may just buckle down and get a new burner, since this one is a 4x and speeds are higher these days. But like i said, don't want to waste money on a new one if it's just going to give me the same errors.

    just did a DVD and finally it worked, after 2 failed ones tonight. It's all very odd. Had to restart my computer a couple times, and then only when the computer seems to be working okay does the DVD burner work well.

    One thing I noticed was on the failed time my "used read buffer" would never quite reach up to full level and my other buffer bar would move like crazy from 100 to 10s and back. On a good burn, the "used read buffer" got full then proceeded to burn and the other buffer bar's percentage didn't seem to change. Both times my computer environments have been the same, so I dont know if its the burner acting up or my computer is running things in the background that i don't know about...
    Quote Quote  
  10. Originally Posted by FulciLives
    Originally Posted by bobkart
    My point about having two burners. If the problem persists on the new burner then that's an indication that it's not the old burner but something with the system. If the new burner works fine, that's an indication that the old burner may be the problem. No it's not the cheapest way to diagnose the problem, but it may be the quickest.
    Plus you could always buy a DVD burner at a retail store ... thus you can easily return it if it is also giving you problems ... which would indicate that the issue is not the NEC but something else.

    I once bought a capture card from Circuit City to try it out even though it was nearly 50% more than mail-order. When I found out I liked it I returned it to Circuit City and ordered it on-line. heh.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    hmm i hadn't thought of that, that may be an idea! yea, i never buy hardware from stores, unless it's a really good deal.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member GKar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    In the corner, on a stool
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Angela627
    Yea, it is pretty old, (I paid $100 for it back in the day) so maybe it is just finally showing its life. My computer has been slower than usual lately though, so if it's a hard drive or other hardware issue, I don't want to spend the money on a new dvd burner if it won't fix it.

    I do like my NEC tho, so for a new one, would you suggest one of the newer NECs as well or another brand?

    THanks!
    It couldn't hurt (free) to give your system a little tuneup.
    Download crap cleaner: http://www.filehippo.com/download_ccleaner/
    A registry cleaner Eusing: http://www.eusing.com/
    Another registry cleaner Regseeker: http://www.hoverdesk.net/freeware.htm
    Then get out the hard drive defragger (windows xp one does ok)
    Flash to the latests firmware here:
    http://cdrinfo.com/Sections/Firmware/SingleModel.aspx?DriveId=745
    http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_firmware.php?category=4&manufactor=23

    If all else fails you can keep the 1300a as a dvd/cd reader.

    You may want to verify your hard disk and DVD-RW are in DMA mode also...seems to be a common occurance for them to be in PIO mode.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member mats.hogberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sweden (PAL)
    Search Comp PM
    Personally, I tend to suspect hardware last. There are simply too many other factors involved, worth investigating first. Other media? Other burner app? Latest firmware?
    Still have my old 1300A as my first (and so far only) DVD burner. After my initial noob mistakes, it has so far never failed me.

    /Mats
    Quote Quote  
  13. Thanks for the suggestions, I will try to do the system tuneup tonight when I get home. I couldn't hurt my system anymore (hopefully).
    I hadn't realized Herrie released a 1.0C, so definitely will update the firmware too.

    as far as media, im on a spindle that has been fine the last 30 burns, so odd that it just decides it doesn't like them anymore. They're also riteks which I have never had issues with before. And I have a separate DVD-ROM that I use as a reader, I don't like using my writer as a reader.
    one thing my computer started doing is telling me there is no disc in my E drive (DVD-Rom) and it can't read the file, yet I never inserted a dvd in or was trying to access it. It just starts doing it on it's own then gives me the error. Don't know if that has to do with the issues i'm having as well...

    You may want to verify your hard disk and DVD-RW are in DMA mode also...seems to be a common occurance for them to be in PIO mode.
    how do i do that?

    Thanks for the help!
    Quote Quote  
  14. used a 1300A for 2-3 years before it stopped burning DVDRs. It would still burn CDRs and read CD(R)s and DVD(R)s. It was a great burner.

    Got a 3540 to replace the 1300A. Best $39 spent! and that was about 8 months ago.
    Quote Quote  
  15. okay, well i did the registry clean up, defragged the hard drive, updated the firmware. And still getting errors.
    I thought id give it a shot with a dvdrw this time so i wouldn't waste another dvdr. the used read buffer jumped out to 100% then a minute later or so it just kept falling down. then i browsed a webpage and my nero just stopped responding. Which hasn't happened in a long time, I also have 1 gig of ram in my system, so really it should be able to handle 2 programs at once.
    Earlier my computer did seem to lock up for a good minute, freezing up when i tried to change between a program, which it never had issues with before. And again, 1 gig of ram is plenty. So at this point I dont know if its a hardware of the writer or a hardware of something else???
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Did you change the RAM recently? Having bad RAM can cause all kinds of system problems but my understanding is that RAM can be bad when new but doesn't really "go bad" so if you haven't changed RAM recently then forget this suggestion.

    When burning you should not do anything else.

    Also you should never use NERO for DVD burning ... at least not DVD Video burning ... but that's another story.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  17. Nope, RAM has been unchanged. When i first installed it my computer had some issues, i thought it might have been a RAM issue, but when my hard drive started sounding like a ticking time bomb I changed it out and everything was smooth and running fast, until now...

    I usually dont do anything else when burning, but I never had issues before, so since i was trying to test out the drive, I just replying to an email and nero didn't seem to like that.

    so if not nero, what do you suggest. I was actually burning a data dvd, not a video dvd. But at this point im up to trying a different software before giving up all together.

    running a checkdisc on the pc right now...its taking a long time verifying file data...
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    I have no idea what to use for a Data DVD other than NERO but for DVD Video burning the best application is ImgBurn and not that long ago ImgBurn got a major update (it worked fine for ages but now has more functions) so maybe it can do a Data DVD now ... not sure. I rarely make Data DVD discs so ...

    It really sounds like your computer has some major issue though so the only advice I can give ... not a popular option ... but sure to "work" ... is to back up your data (an external USB/FIREWIRE HDD is a good choice) and re-format the HDD and re-install Windows fresh.

    Sometimes Windows just gets "messed up" and even fixes like registry clean software etc. can't fix it.

    So sometimes a fresh Windows install on an empty erased/re-formated HDD is the only "trick" to make it work again.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  19. sigh, i may have to do just that, cause now upon finishing up the diskcheck my computer has told me my wsftp no longer works, and ive done nothing to it and also just used it this weekend.

    and now my current burn is stuck at 34%, the remaining time has been at 0 for over 5 mins and total time keeps moving up, but nothing else is moving.
    sigh, just seems like more problems arise.

    even before when I had major hard drive issues and my computer was running slow as ever, my dvdburner still never crapped out so I could still back up files to my dvds before formatting, now I dont even have that option. Well looks like its time to get an external hard drive, any recommendations? Im not even sure if my computer has USB 2.0s...
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Well these days you can buy an external HDD that is ready-to-go i.e., already in an external enclosure that is either USB 2.0 and/or FIREWIRE compatable. Should (knock on wood) also work with USB 1.0 but my guess is your computer has USB 2.0 if it is a P4 2.4Ghz just based on what was "popular" then in terms of USB when that speed processor came out.

    Another option ... you can buy an external case and put an existing HDD in it. I have two myself like this that I bought at CompUSA for something like $40 and work with USB. If you have an existing HDD to use this would be a cheaper solution than buying a new external HDD.

    However it sounds that your computer is so f'ed up that you might have trouble trying to copy stuff to an external HDD.

    In which case you might have to take out the current HDD and back it up using another computer ... or take it out and replace it with another HDD and reformat with that then extract the data from the "old" HDD once the system is stable.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  21. well i have 2 hard drives in my system. I have one hard drive that i run my OS off of and keep some files on but the bulk of my files are stored on another hard drive just cause unfortunately formating and restalling OS seems to be a norm with windows and at least I can keep my files this way. It's just the hassle of having to install all my programs over again that I hate. But it seems like I really have no choice in the matter here. So i'll just have to put in that seagate that ive had waiting on my shelve, and then if my burner still won't work, then I guess its time to upgrade to a faster burner, and enter the realm of DLs.

    okay well now im trying to backup some files from my C drive to a DVDRW and it seems to be going fine... yea im really confused by my computer and burner right now.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    I've had a DL capable burner since December 2004 and I've yet to burn a DL DVD disc LOL

    I do hope the install trick works for you ... sucks when a computer doesnt' work as it should.

    I feel your pain!

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  23. DL discs are still too expensive, it's the reason why I haven't felt the need to upgrade to a faster DL burner. Because really the 4x 15min doesn't botter me all that much cause I usually just leave my computer when Im burning.

    and now...it seems to be burning fine on my DVDRW. I don't get it!!! Either just work or dont work at all, stop toying with me!
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Angela627
    Either just work or dont work at all, stop toying with me!
    Reminds me of a vibrating adult toy I had once ... it had a "bad" connector inside and you would have to shake it sometimes so the batteries would "connect" and it would purrr it's magic.

    It would pick the worse times to stop working too.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  25. LOL, tmi dude
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member mats.hogberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sweden (PAL)
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by FulciLives
    I have no idea what to use for a Data DVD other than NERO
    CD Burner XP Pro. Doesn't do Video DVD tho.

    /Mats
    Quote Quote  
  27. okay so my dvdrw i used to backup files from my C drive burned fine. thought i'd give it another go with my original project, it actually didn't fail this time, but instead took nearly 40 mins to burn when i usually burn at 4x in about 15 mins.
    Interesting enough the dvd that burned normally was from files that were on my C drive, the one that took 40 mins (or usually failed) is from files being pulled from my D drive, and it is also making my computer lag in the process (which wasn't happening during the successful burn). Thinking at this point it may have something to do with my D drive, yet I don't keep any exe files on it or run anything off of it, only used for storage so that's odd to me...

    Looking at some other threads, it might be the DMA/PIO thing?
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member FulciLives's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA in the USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Angela627
    okay so my dvdrw i used to backup files from my C drive burned fine. thought i'd give it another go with my original project, it actually didn't fail this time, but instead took nearly 40 mins to burn when i usually burn at 4x in about 15 mins.
    Interesting enough the dvd that burned normally was from files that were on my C drive, the one that took 40 mins (or usually failed) is from files being pulled from my D drive, and it is also making my computer lag in the process (which wasn't happening during the successful burn). Thinking at this point it may have something to do with my D drive, yet I don't keep any exe files on it or run anything off of it, only used for storage so that's odd to me...

    Look at some other threads it might be the DMA/PIO thing?
    You should have the two HDD's on one IDE cable and the Burner (along with a DVD reader) on the other IDE cable.

    Never mix a HDD with an optical drive when it comes to the IDE cable.

    That's one thought.

    Another thought is that D drive is slipping into PIO mode instead of DMA mode or worse yet it is just dying on you.

    - John "FulciLives" Coleman
    "The eyes are the first thing that you have to destroy ... because they have seen too many bad things" - Lucio Fulci
    EXPLORE THE FILMS OF LUCIO FULCI - THE MAESTRO OF GORE
    Quote Quote  
  29. Yea that is how my computer is set up. the 2 HDDs are connected on one cable (master/slave) and the 2 dvd drives are on another cable (dvd-rom being master, writer being slave).

    Could the hard drives have just slipped into PIO mode by itself suddenly? Cause everything was working fine on my computer until I tried to extract a winrar file on night, then that's when all the problems started happening. My friend had the same winrar and had no issues with her computer tho. How can I try to fix it via DMA? giving it some last attemps before the last resort of formating/exchanging out hdd.
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member GKar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    In the corner, on a stool
    Search Comp PM
    2 ways I check DMA status:

    Right click My Computer>Hardware tab>Ide Controllers>Primary/Secondary>Advanced Settings

    Nero Tool Kit> Infotools>Configuration

    Don't trust the Device Tree by itself, compare it to Nero Infotools. I've seen it where the Device Tree says DMA mode on but Nero infotools and Nero burn log showed DMA off. Try to avoid using any IDE drivers that come with the motherboard and stick with the generic Microsoft drivers for highest compatibility and fewer problems.



    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads