VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Thread
  1. Member Alex_ander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Search Comp PM
    When installing Avisynth 2.56 or 2.56a (WinXP SP2, Russian) I get error message 'Couldn't write to registry' at about 10-15% of progress bar. The installer stops after creating plugin folder with 2 dll's and a .avsi file inside and writes to registry values for folders location in Avisynth entry. As I can guess some system entries are touched during installation but have no idea which ones to check for read/write permissions (I have admin rights on my PC).
    Also tried disabling Norton 2005 real-time protection (useless). What other applications can be in conflict (there were no older Avisynth installations, no DVDRebuilder etc.)? Any ideas please? Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Search Comp PM
    do you have admin privileges in your system, i.e, can you modify or create registry keys ?

    did you tried to setup in Safe Mode ? restart the system ?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Might also want to check the permissions for the registry keys in question.

    Which from a look at the NSIS script would be:
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\AviSynth
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uni nstall\AviSynth
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uni nstall\AviSynth
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Classes\.avs
    HKCR\.avs
    HKCR\CLSID\{E6D6B700-124D-11D4-86F3-DB80AFD98778}
    HKCR\avifile\Extensions\avs
    HKCR\Media Type\Extensions\.avs
    HKCR\avsfile
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    There are issues with the installer. It probably properly installed, irregardless of the error message. Run this:

    VERSION()

    It should show what you just installed.

    If not, install 2.57r2, which fixed the installer (and is a later version, to boot).
    ICBM target coordinates:
    26 14' 10.16"N -- 80 16' 0.91"W
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member Alex_ander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you all for the useful info. I suspected there was something wrong with the installer 'cause it's very rare when I can't install something. I'll try the newer version first.
    Alexander
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member Alex_ander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Search Comp PM
    V.2.57RC1 got installed without a problem, thanks again for your help.
    Alexander
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads